A day early.

Thursday 3 October is National Poetry Day.

‘Water, water everywhere’ is the theme.

In honour of the day
I’ve chosen a song,
picked a poem,
then tried watery words of my own.

I may never have the talent of Bob Nolan who wrote “Cool Water” in 1936.

Frankie Laine – “Cool Water”

Or the magical mastery of the late Shel Silverstein

Rain

I opened my eyes
And looked up at the rain,
And it dripped in my head
And flowed into my brain,
And all that I hear as I lie in my bed
Is the slishity-slosh of the rain in my head.

I step very softly,
I walk very slow,
I can’t do a handstand–
I might overflow,
So pardon the wild crazy thing I just said–
I’m just not the same since there’s rain in my head.
~ Shel Silverstein

I see pennies

I see pennies

Now it is my turn…

Dripping, dropping from the sky
rain gently feeds seeds that lie
under the soil until the day
they break ground to play
waving and dancing in spring sunshine
to warm the hearts of yours and mine.

0////0\\\

Water on my knee,
water in my ear,
even water on the brain
leaves no stain.

Water in the kettle
for a cup of cheer
Share it with a friend
any time of year.

All our tears of laughter
never cause us any pain.
They stay in our heart
to relive again and again!

Splashing on the beach
Scrambling across the rocks
No need today
for shoes or socks.

Soaking in the bath
at the end of day,
helps sooth the bones
and take aches away.

We are fortunate to have water all around us. It can be very calming.

16 thoughts on “A day early.

  1. I think I too have water on the brain. Would explain a lot.
    Like your own poeticality.
    Completely coincidentally, I’ve just post a poem at my place. Less said about it the better I think.
    (I just came over to see what’s up for Friday. Bye now.)

    • Nancy, we are fortunate to have water and oxygen in plentiful supply. Right now it is raining so hard outside that I cannot see out my window!

  2. Clever. My parents owned a copy of the Frankie Laine recording, but my favorite was done by the Sons of the Pioneers. I am so ‘up,’ today, even water where it should not be would not bother me.

  3. Pingback: Water, Water, Everywhere | Travel with Intent

  4. Me too! Love the rain! Gentle, steady, rain…falling on my face as I pick in my gardens! No bugs, just peace and quiet and sometimes a double rainbow! 🙂

    • Mere, Your rain sounds heavenly. Ours came with leaden skies and was relentless for a few days, at least today it has eased a little, only falling in showers.

      • Today it hasn’t started yet. That was a nice summer rain I was talking about! 🙂 Today they are saying that we are to expect heavy rains. The winds are about 40 right now. It is nasty out there today. So glad it has eased where you are. They have been saying to expect about 2″ for our area. Around 40 temps this morning. Brrrr…..have to get used to the cold once again…hope it isn’t a bad winter! Take care!

  5. At least is isn’t snow! Jamestown and Bismark will get the snow. South Dakota will get the worst of it I think.

    • Don’t mention the ‘S’ word and keep it away from your East Coast, we usually get the tail end of that a week later. Brrr!

Comments are closed.