Is it in the Bag?

If you visit my blog on a regular basis the name Darlene will be familiar as a regular commenter. She lives in Tucson, Arizona and joined the world of blogging last July. So what is so unusual about that? I hear you ask. Nothing really unusual I agree, until you read her bio:

I am an 83 year old widow living alone.

How many other folk at 83 years of age do you know that set up and run a blog? Why am I telling you about Darlene? Think about it… with all those years of living behind her, what wonderful stories and experiences she has to tell us.

One post in particular is very well worth reading in these days of world recession. I realise, that to many young people the idea of scrimping and going without may seem a little like science fiction. I remember life in the fifties, a time of make do and mend. A time when ‘Credit’ and ‘Debt’ were considered as deadly as cancer and aids, we scrimped and saved for weeks, months and sometimes years before buying luxuries.

Now go and visit Darlene and read her piece about the Great Depression and the years that followed. I hope we don’t ever have to go back to that way of living, but can continue on as normal.

My good friend Rowan asked a question earlier in the week: What is normal? His quotation from Ellen Goodman voiced my thoughts more eloquently than I ever could.

Normal is getting dressed in clothes that you buy for work and driving through traffic in a car that you are still paying for – in order to get to the job you need to pay for the clothes and the car, and the house you leave vacant all day so you can afford to live in it.

Does Ellen have it in the bag?

*~*~*~*

So my final attempt at creating spot colour in my photos for p4oi stays with the bag theme. I have to admit this spot colour idea proved much more difficult than I first imagined and I doubt that it will become a favourite pastime. Worth a try though.

15 thoughts on “Is it in the Bag?

  1. I seriously hope we aren’t heading back to fifties-style austerity but things don’t look good. On the other hand, if people are forced to live within their means a bit more and not pile themselves with absurd levels of debt, maybe that’s a useful lesson learned.

    The Ellen Goodman quote is spot on and neatly sums up the frustrating circularity of many people’s lives.

    I read somewhere that the oldest blogger in the world is thought to be a Chinese woman in her nineties who has millions of visitors. I had a look but of course it was all in Chinese.

  2. Aww bless her. I had a lady, the lovely Olive who was 108 but she died in August this year. She blogged for two years! Bless her soul. I keep trying to introduce a financial ‘blog’ on our work website as a good way to ‘interact’ with investors during these volatile times and am constantly being told that older people don’t do that sort of thing. I’m beginning to feel that the 50 somethings are the troglodites of the 21st Century. People think I’m weird for blogging as if it’s an internet dating service. I find that insulting and ignorant. Frankly, I like being abnormal! (although I routinely do those things Ellen describes!)

  3. Hi Grannymar,

    As you may know, I visit Darlene’s site every day and always enjoy her writing and memories.

    I am only slightly younger than Darlene so we share many thoughts about the “good old days” and reminisce constantly about our childhoods.

    I think she is marvelous to have started her own blog, especially since she had quite a bit of difficulty posting pictures and she persevered with only a little guidance and now seldom mentions any photo problems. She succeeded mostly on her own and now she has quite a following.

    Darlene is very politically austute and has been a guiding light through this current election. She runs long essays about various candidates and keeps us all “Up to date” with the twists and turns that occur.

    I look forward to visiting her blog every day…….

  4. Oh my goodness! To open your blog and see my name was a huge surprise. Thank you Grannymar and Nancy for your very kind words. I deeply appreciate the comments and the link to my post. How can I thank thee? – Let me count the ways. I thank thee from the depth of my heart and soul. {If I have one. ~-;) }.

    Baino, thank you for the blessing. I can use all of those I can get.

    Wow! Wow! Wow! My day has really started out with a bang. I am walking on air.

  5. Hi Grannyma, long time no visit (family stuff/sickness – and looking after two small grandsons day and night for the last few weeks since I got back off holiday) but back home now for a couple of days, before havine to dash off again on Sunday for another 5 days or so.
    I have missed reading your blog with my morning cuppa (!) and haven’t read Darlene’s blog yet. Most definately will though. I recollect hard times from a (post) war childhood (although didn’t know they were hard then of course – that was just the way it was..).
    Love the photograph! Very prof’. You get better and better G!
    I think you should write a recipe book and photograph the dishes. I’d definately buy it (living on quick on-the-go meals at the moment burp…oops, sorry)!

  6. Thanks for the link, GM, an amazing lady. I am more and more impressed (and learning) from older people who cross both my virtual and real paths. I continue to be inspired. My recent new friend is 98 and goes out to catch her fish dinner in the pond by her house, and recently I caught her up to her elbows in Christmas pudding batter. She makes a pudding for each one of her grandchildren and their families.
    she jokes to me she was once 5’9″ but God has shrunk her to 5’2″ so he can squeeze her into heaven by one of the back windows. LOL.
    XO
    WWW

  7. Hi Grannymar,
    I was wondering if you could contact me please. My name is Dearbhla and I’m writing from RTE’s The Afternoon Show. I’d love to have a chat with you as possible as you seem to have lots of tips etc that we would be interested in hearing.
    This seems like a somewhat unconventional way to get in touch with someone but you didn’t have contact details posted on the blog.
    My number is Dublin 01 208 4616. My email address is dearbhlalennon@greeninc.ie
    If you could send me a mail with some more info on your background etc and maybe even attach a photo, that would be fab.
    Regards,
    Dearbhla Lennon

  8. Right! I have abandoned my broom for the evening and returned to catch up with my visitors.

    @Nick – I too hope we never return to the scrimping and scraping of long ago. I sometimes wonder who would fare best, our generation or the youngsters who know nothing of hardship?

    @Baino – Welcome to the ‘Funny Looks’ club! Ignore those people who think we are weird ’cause we got the last laugh! 😀

    @Nancy – Darlene has done well in a few short months. I too like her political conversations.

    @Annie – Enjoy

  9. @Darlene – You are some lady with a lifetime of knowledge to share with us. Keep rattling those keys! 😀

    @Geri – Welcome back! You were missed. I hope all returns to normal very soon.

    @WWW – I would love to be like your friend when and if I reach 98! I love the idea of shrinking to fit through a window of heaven! 😀

    @Dearbhla – Welcome to the party! I will email you re: RTE’s The Afternoon Show over the weekend. many thanks.

    @Judy – Darlene is a fun person.

  10. Thanks also to Judy, Annie, wisewebwoman and Kenju. How am I ever going to live up to those wonderful compliments? Geri Atric, I am looking forward to your visit.

    Baino, I know all about Olive Reilly and have her video. She was an inspiration to me and her blog THE LIFE OF REILLY was fascinating. So sad that she is no longer with us.

  11. Pingback: Grannymar » Fifteen Minutes

Comments are closed.