The times they are a changing

The clock went back an hour in the we small hours of the morning and once more we face shorter days with dark mornings and evenings. This change was heralded in by a blustery wet and grey day yesterday. We seem to have had a long dreary time for the past eighteen months with little sign of any summer weather.

In years past the weather never bothered me. I wrapped up and headed off at the drop of a hat to whatever took my fancy. Now however I notice a subtle change. As the day becomes monochrome my body goes cold and I begin to shiver. Going into my bedroom for any reason at this stage of the day is not a good idea. I could so easily jump into bed and pull the clothes over my head and stay there until spring. Instead I switch on the lights, turn up the music and draw the blinds. Doing the latter makes me more comfortable and it also prevents heat loss.

Something else I do with great regularity is change the desktop scene on my monitor. A happy photo of Elly giggling always brings joy to my soul. Sometimes I use a photo that I have taken while out walking or driving or a new family shot sent to me by email.

So today, as this fellow flies away

My screen changes to this:

15 thoughts on “The times they are a changing

  1. I’ve been playing a little of a racing game on the Xbox 360 that’s set in Paradise City. There’s a wind farm in the hills overlooking the city, and it’s possible to crash your car there and tumble down through the windmills – I end up doing this a lot, but it always reminds me of home a little!

  2. Aww . . winter blues so early in the season? You’re little tern is probably headed down here to Kakadu for the summer! Our winter is thankfully short but shallow as it might seem, injecting a little bright colour seems to work for me. I buy new scatter cushions or a bright throw or silly orange socks! I can’t believe how green Ireland is, no wonder they call it the Emerald Isle! Now there’s the challenge Elly – giggly shot required toot sweet!

  3. @Elly – I am always amazed at the things that remind us of home. I remember back in my Wiewsbaden days, walking down a street and the smell of onions wafted my way. Suddenly I was back in the kitchen with mammy preparing dinner!

    @Baino – Once darkness falls I am fine and have no problem going out. It is just that long hour of dusk that bothers me. Closing up the outside world solves the problem.

  4. I definitely get a touch of SAD during the winter. Not like some who can hardly get out of bed, but I get a bit listless and gloomy in the evenings and feel quite caged-in by the dark. Come daylight and I’m completely revived again!

    My desktop scene is a wee island in the middle of the sea. Funnily enough, I never get bored with it.

  5. Here’s a tip that has worked for me for the past few years…
    Think of your heating system as an athlete, if you start from scratch you’ve got to expend a lot of energy to warm up, then once you stop, the heat rapidly disappears and you’re left with the old ‘leave the sitting room to travel through the freezing hallway and freeze your ass off…”

    What I do is turn the temperature of the heating to the lowest possible, eg. 1. Then switch on all your radiators half way – and leave them on!! I swear it costs less than turning on and off your heaters throughout the day and night. And you get to enjoy an always on cosiness to your home that makes phone calls in freezing hallways a thing of the past!

    Try it and see!
    (Apologies for writing in the style of a women’s way magazine, I just read the Saturday times supplement so that’s probably wielding an influence!!)

  6. @Nick – I don’t consider the shiver that goes through me in the late afternoons as SAD, it is my ‘bad’ time of day. Perhaps I am allergic to dusk. šŸ˜†

    @Maryrose – Dear Woman’s Magazine lady! šŸ˜†
    You are correct about the heating it is the way I normally work my boiler and find it efficient. It is also nice if like me, you need to get up in the night, to feel warm air around you.

  7. Oh yes, the time change. I know ours is coming up soon, because now I walk to the train in pitch blackness. We will go next weekend, right before the election. Then I will walk home in darkness instead.

    Right now we’re having the glorious days of fall, with amazing clear blue skies, maples turning yellow and orange and that special North American bright red that I haven’t seen elsewhere. Days that make you crave fresh apples and reconsider cooking with pumpkin and nutmeg.

    By the time we come home from vacation, I expect it to be cold, gray and dreary. I will live for my kettle and fuzzy bathrobe and I’ll look reproachfully at the programmable thermostat when it tells me, hey, listen, you were the one who set me to this temperature.

    Sounds like you have a good strategy. Stay warm! (BTW, I adore the tern. I think all our robins have left now ‘cos we couldn’t convince them that global warming made all that migrating irrelevant.)

  8. Stwidgie – Dare I say that I envy you the your glorious colours of autumn. So far I have refrained from lighting a real fire…. perhaps next weekend! šŸ˜€

    Red slippers and sock all add to the impression of warmth and a hot Port helps me to glow from the inside.

  9. As long as the poor bird doesn’t fly into one of those yokes!

    Were you taking a photograph out of the car window while driving? I do hope you weren’t using your mobile phone with the other hand!

    Is that yellow Oilseed Rape? It’s everywhere – including my garden which is miles from the nearest field.

  10. Ian

    That bird came to talk to me the day I went exploring the Chaine round tower in Larne.

    The second photo was indeed taken from the drivers seat of my car. I was stopped and as you can see it was rush hour! šŸ™„

    Oilseed Rape? Not sure about that Ian, unless it was carried on the wind or by birds. The ground is rather rough in that area, I’d call it sheep country. The photo was taken in July.

  11. Do you have a top-down roadster, GM? The car certainly looks like it!!
    I change the wallpaper regularly, right now it is a thundering wave on the beach in hurting-blue sunshine. A lot of the time it’s my grand-daughter or a sunset or flowers.
    I just hate these short days, I’m trying to get up with the sun, it’s a battle as I’m such a nighthawk…..
    XO
    WWW

  12. WWW – No top-down roadster for me. I drive a mazda , it does have a sunroof for the odd occasion that we see the sun! šŸ˜€

    I love to open up the computer and see a cheerful picture.

    @Judy – I try to look inwards in the dark weather. Sewing projects, cooking , baking etc.

  13. I’m on the opposite end, waiting and waiting for it to feel like winter! Something about global warming keeping it in the 90’s… or maybe that’s just Arizona!
    I don’t recall it staying quite so warm in the past, although I did wear a strapless dress for my wedding in November.
    I’m hoping for a white Christmas at some point in my life. But I honestly don’t know if I could survive REAL cold weather. Especially when rising with mr. baby early bird at 6AM (0:

  14. Hi Stephanie,

    We had a little snow this morning. The ground was wet so it didn’t stick. Saw cars with about an inch of snow on the roof. I am about three fields below the snow line!

    I hope mr baby is doing well!

Comments are closed.