An Answer!

Ian asked me a question on 30th March this year. He would be the first to tell us that some answers take time. This one did, but I at last have the answer.

Back then I wrote about this wonderful sculpture

At the time the only information I had was:

Brian Alabaster of Suffolk made this sculpture in 2003. His son Sam, a 15 year old boy with Downs Syndrome sits reading with his Grandpa, Dickie, who is 82, Sam’s dog Billy, age 10, is at his feet.

I received a comment to that post at the weekend. It was from Brian Alabaster, sculptor. ARBS. Sadly, he tells me that Grandpa Dickie has since died. The close bond between man and boy is so obvious in the work and I am sure Dickis is greatly missed by all his loved ones.

So to answer Ian’s question, asking if the piece was commissioned by the local council, I can now tell you it was purchased by the owners of Junction One Shopping Outlet after they saw it in Brian’s studio.

It was with great interest and curiosity that I visited Brian’s website and was fascinated at his back story. I immediately lost my heart to this piece;

If only I had a garden suitable for Lilly Luke and Rose to sport and play.

Now if you pause for a moment you can almost hear their chatter.

Enjoy!

15 thoughts on “An Answer!

  1. I love accessible sculptures!

    It’s like being able to sit and chat with Patrick Kavanagh beside the Grand Canal

    (I can never remember the words of “On Raglan Road” – it’s one of my favourite love songs)

  2. What a wonderful story, Grannymar

    I’m bowled over by the beauty of Brian Alabaster’s work and his ability to capture a moment in time – for ever.

    Well done you!

    And all the best to Brian for his forthcoming exhibition in London.

  3. I love that sculpture at Junction One. It was so unexpected, finding something so beautiful and evocative at such a place.

    Thanks for finding out some more about the artist and for sharing.
    The sculpture pictured above reminds me of my 3, (2 boys and 1 girl).

  4. What beautiful sculptures. They are filled with so much humanity that they seem to tell a story. I guess, like all good art, you can insert your own dialogue. I see my own children in the last sculpture amd I’ll bet that holds true for any parent who views it.

  5. @Ian – I have yet to sit beside Patrick Kavanagh on the Grand Canal… one day soon perhaps!

    @Steph – I totally agree with you about Brian’s wonderful Art.
    I too echo your wishes for Brian with his forthcoming exhibition in London.

    @Sharon – Next time I go to Junction One I will see see Sam with totally new eyes! 😀

    @Darlene I am sure we all know children just like those in the work above. They are charming.

  6. Roy

    I don’t see it as a sculpture on a seat, but rather a sculpture with a seat! I have to say I like them.

  7. @Roy – I also like recognisable sculptures rather than abstract blob!

    @Baino – Anything is better than a pole to the sky!

  8. Wonderful pieces – they suggest such warmth and affection. Didn’t you also say he did that sculpture outside the Europa bus centre, or am I imagining it?

  9. @Nick – I agree with you about the warmth and affection. The sculpture at the Europa was the work of Louise Walsh, it was way back at the end of April!

    @Judy _ the work with the three children is so real, I expect them to suddenly jump up and move on to play another game.

Comments are closed.