I was out last night

There were a few people about.

I attended the inaugural Slugger Awards “Promoting a conversational politics in Northern Ireland.” The awards were presented in the atrium of W5 in the Odyssey in Belfast.

Slugger O’Toole has been following Northern Ireland politics since June 2002. It is the oldest political blog in and about Northern Ireland and is read by Journalists, Political Professionals and bloggers with 23,000 unique visitors every month. Founded by Mick Fealty, it now has a team of regular bloggers contributing to the site. Slugger O’Toole is a place where the Blogosphere and Main Stream Media merge.

Mick Fealty giving us a little history of the blog and how the Awards came about.

The ten Awards were:

· Up-and-coming Politician of the Year – Daithi McKay (Sinn Fein) –

· Local Newspaper of the Year – Impartial Reporter

· Local Council of the year – Belfast City Council

· Local Councillor of the Year – Deirdre Nelson (DUP)

· Jobsworth of the Year – Assembly Commission (and it was collected in good humour by the newly appointed director general Trevor Reaney – pictured to the right with his award)

· Journalism Award – David Gordon (Belfast Telegraph)

· Stormont Committee Chair of the Year – Danny Kennedy (UUP)

· Political Blogger of the Year – Nevin Taggart behind the North Antrim Local Interest List (NALIL)

· Eternal Representative (MPs, MEPs and others) – Peter Robinson (DUP MP)

· MLA of the Year – Naomi Long (Alliance)

I was invited by to join the table of Channel 4 TV who were one of the Sponsors of the evening and Stuart Cosgrove and Ewan McIntosh presented two of the prizes. Paul Smith of WIMPS who provided the video clips to precede each Award, and also made one of the presentations was seated beside me and he was a pleasure to talk to. There was a laptop on the table and later I discovered that it belonged to this guy and perhaps I was sitting in his seat –

He looked quite comfortable down there as he live blogged his own event!

Thank you Mick for the seat and it was a great evening and very professionally organised.

I also spoke to Davy Simms who supplied a Podcast of the event and to Alan In Belfast . Finally a big thank you to Mairin Murray who looked after me so royally. It was great to catch up with you again Mairin.

13 thoughts on “I was out last night

  1. Sounds like so much fun….I can’t wait until I’m able to go to one of the blogger conventions. I’ve never been in the presence of other bloggers and I think that would be so great..

    Dorothy from grammology
    grammology.com

  2. Beautifully reported! Grannymar

    You’re becoming quite a photo-journalist these days!

    I used to wonder why after the Northern Assembly was formed, the members had ‘MLA’ after their names. What did the ‘L’ stand for?

    So I looked it up…

    Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA)

    I suppose Martin McGuinness, MNA wouldn’t look quite right! 🙂

  3. @Baino – There is nobody here to stop me! 🙄

    @Dorothy – You will just have to start one in your area.

    @Steph – MNA would do for so many reasons! 😉

  4. So it was yourself behaving a like a young thing with that camera!! 😉

    I was very comfortable thanks… Unaccustomed as I am to the bright lights and all that…

    Best line of the night came from Tim McGarry: “I’ve never been heckled by cable before!”

  5. Welcome Mick and thank you.

    Tim did a great job as compere for the evening. From the turn out and chat the other night, the Slugger Awards have a bright future!

  6. Magpie

    The gags were one-liners, part of each introduction and out of context they are lost in retelling.

    I did enjoy thre evening

  7. Davy it was good to talk even for the few minutes. I did realise you were ‘working’ so kept well out of your way so as not to interupt the Podcast.

    Talk to you at the next event!.

Comments are closed.