My Southern Adventure

I had a great few days away from home and feel like I was on holiday for a month.

You heard about the lists, the tasks and the curtains so now you want the interesting bits.

Saturday meant an early start; we left home at 8am in order to reach Hotel Kilkenny and registration for PodCamp Ireland before 10 am. We drove through thick fog most of the way, so the journey was slow. Seeing friendly faces as we arrived soon brought the sunshine to our hearts. I was not the oldest and the generations were like steps of stairs to the youngest little lady that I saw at lunchtime, a mere one year old!

Ken McGuire Bernie Goldbach & Krishna De all did a trojan job in the past few months organising the event. It may have been an β€˜unconference’ event but without the background work it would not have happened.

So what did I do?

I hugged, or should I say Keith tried to crush my ribs! πŸ˜‰

I listened with Marian while Darragh talked.

I learned, Ellie May shows me how to use an iPod.

I talked about blogging and Podcasting for the older generation.

AND

I was brought home to meet β€˜The Parents’

We arrived back with Elly & George in time for a sumptuous dinner on Sunday night and again enjoyed friendship, fun and laughter for several hours.

On Monday a workman was due so I stayed around to let him in. I had three more fine young Toyboys on Tuesday and one of them came three times! The work was completed on Tuesday and everyone is satisfied.

Fearing I would be charged rent if I stayed any longer, the bags were pack and ready for the return journey on Wednesday. I didn’t go straight home. I went to meet and dallied awhile with another fine handsome Toyboy.

Then I was presented with this:

How’s your Latin?

Some of the 110 attendees that I actually had conversations with at PodCamp Ireland were:

Evert Bopp (Tipperary)

Mike Buckley (St Louis, MO, USA)

Cian Mac Mahon (Dun Laoighaire, Dublin) wants to do a Podcast with me.

Darragh Doyle (Dublin)

Keith Shirley (Carlow)

John Keyes (Kilkenny)

Rosemary Khelifa (Dublin) (whose talk I missed as it clashed with mine) gave me a lovely neck massage.

Elly Parker (Adamstown)

Martha Rotter (Dublin)

Gabriela Avram (Limerick)

Nicola Brown (Carlow)

Simon McGarr (Dublin)

Deborah Hadley (Tullamore) found her way to our hearts with delicious Brownies.

Jan Buckley (St. Louis, USA)

Marian Roche (Limerick) who made the PodCamp Logo buttons

Dean Whitbread (UK) presented and chatted despite an ear infection. Thanks Dean.

Sabrina Dent (Cork)

John Handelaar (Cork)

Keith Bohanna (Kilkenny)

Niamh Smith (Dublin)

Gav Reilly (Dublin)

Ian Healy (Kilkenny)

Jason Roe (Dublin)

Conor Lynch (Meath)

Marie Boran (Carlow)

Sabrina Marczak (Canada)

Katherina Fay (Dublin)

George Pratt (Dublin)

Sinead Murnane (Dublin)

Cathy Fowley (Dublin)

Sharon Tobin (Kilkenny)

If we chatted and I missed your name put it down to a senior moment.

More photos at Pix.ie

23 thoughts on “My Southern Adventure

  1. Hi grannymar … have come to you via blog awards … i write a blog and am doing a story for an irish daily about blogging. wondered if you’d be happy to talk to me? If so, could you drop me a line. thank you so much RM

  2. Great to see you in Kilkenny (at PodCamp and Paris Texas) and I’m now happily sporting my toyboy badge, though I did have some explaining to do πŸ™‚

  3. @RM – Welcome to the party. It would be a pleasure to talk to you. Expect the email shortly. πŸ˜€

    @Ken – I hope I was not the cause of trouble. πŸ˜‰

    @Mr Sneeze – I will treasure and display my certificate with pride!
    Thanks for the recommendation.

    @Niamh – Its all or nothing with me! πŸ™„ Thanks for all the driving.

  4. Aww you’re pretty awesome. Then I have loads of retired clients with the same vivacity (few who are quite as technosavvy mind!) Probably shouldn’t refer to IT types as trojans and more importantly I love your boots! (Yeh, I’m shallow and have fat legs so could never get away with a knee length riding boot!)

  5. Baino – I think I need to eat a new dictionary. πŸ˜‰ Sorry lads if I said the wrong thing.
    Those boots are a great stand-by. They have appeared every winter for the past 15 years at least!

  6. @Cathy – Maybe I should only allow photos from the waist down! πŸ˜‰

    @ChrisD – You should get out more AND we had real food! πŸ˜‰

    @Judy – It is either a feast or a famine.

  7. Toy boys or not toy boys?
    That is the question.
    Whether they’re nobler in the mind than in the flesh.

    Talk about outrageous fortune!

  8. @Magpie – You are turning into a real Poet! πŸ˜‰
    My father used to tell me that my hair was my fortune. Alas, the glory of the auburn colour has well and truly gone now!

    @Nicola – Great to meet you on Saturday and Sunday. Listening to you talk about Felt making brought me back to my efforts at the skill many years ago. One of these days…. perhaps!

    I was thinking of writing about the Michaelmas Festival in the next few days.

  9. I *LOVE* that photo of you and Marian listening to me “talk”. Every experience is good, and all that… Were many people asleep (or was it only me?) πŸ˜‰

    Great weekend, brilliant memories. Thank you.

  10. Darragh

    Nobody in the room was asleep. I might have been saying something when the camera clicked. It was a very comfortable and friendly conversation!

  11. Lette

    These Camps are like busses, none for months and then you have three or four together! They are loads of fun while learning something new and making friends.

  12. Pingback: Grannymar » Food Monday ~ Apple Pie Coffee Cake

Comments are closed.