Would you have a tent I could borrow?

Season of mists and mellow fruitfulness!

Now that is the first line of a poem by John Keats. It always comes to mind at this time of the year as I wipe the mist from the inside of my bedroom window in the mornings. Over the next few weeks I hopefully will enjoy the early mist lying over the river in the valley. On some occasions it streaks like a ribbon across the landscape allowing me the view of the fields and buildings below and the hills and skyline above.

The month of September is in my books, the month of order and routine. Schools are open once more; sporting activities, evening classes, clubs and a myriad of organisations unfold their new programme of events. The roads become clogged with the chaos of the morning traffic rushing to beat the clock. I notice that friends become available once more after the long break of summer, for social events and meals.

This September I plan to be busy I am going camping! Not just once but twice. Now I know I asked for a tent but hopefully I wonโ€™t need it. You see the Camping that I am talking about has nothing to do with green fields, well I hope not, it is more about comfort, drinking coffee and making new friends. There will of course be the opportunity to learn new skills from experts who willing share and part with information and it all takes place indoors.

First off I am booked to go to CreativeCamp in Belfast on Saturday 6th of September at Blick Shared Studios.

CreativeCamp will be a un-conference event focussing on any medium that creative folk drool over. Topics covered include design, photography, web and mobile. The format is just like a BarCamp, so you can sign up to speak on a topic that you fancy.

Congratulations must go to Mairin & Andy for all the hard work in preparation for the day.

My second outing later in the month will be to PodCamp Ireland in Kilkenny on Saturday 27th September.

It will be a return visit for me both to Kilkenny and to PodCamp. To date there are 80 people registered for PodCamp so the talks, discussion panels and the people attending should make for a very interesting day. I am so looking forward to rekindling old friendships and making new friends. The only cost to you the attendee at either event is in time – the time to come to the event – time to listen and time to join in and add your voice to the mix of the day.

I guarantee that it is impossible to attend an event such as these and not go away without learning something new!

See you there!

Today as a forerunner of PodCamp Ireland in KilKenny I was honoured to be included in this weeks Podcast and you can listen to it here

12 thoughts on “Would you have a tent I could borrow?

  1. Aww I wish we had something like that here. I love the sound of creative camp! I must have a look around and see if such a thing exists. And you’re right about September even with the seasons all the wrong way round I’m motivated to get on with things . . the spring cleaning gene is very active!

  2. Grannymar,

    I’ll lend you my tent anytime ๐Ÿ˜€

    Don’t forget to pack your colourful new boots… essential for chasing Toyboys in the early morning dew ๐Ÿ˜†

  3. Thanks GM, but…

    The Birthday Boy and I shall be away doing our own creative thing when each of those events are on.

    You’ll have to find your own ‘roll in bed with Honey’ ๐Ÿ˜†

  4. Hi Ken,

    Thank you for the kind words. The real thanks should go to Krishna, Bernie and your goodself for the long months of preparation and hard graft to get the event up and running.

  5. Darren G, Hello and welcome! I look forward to seeing you on Saturday.

    Register on the site if you are coming so they have enough food to feed you ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Darren, nice one!

    Anyone else thinking of coming? Remember to register. Different scale to Kilkenny, so catering arrangements are different. Food needs to be imported for the day. Only fair to tell the organisers.

Comments are closed.