A Book to Drool Over

Earlier in the week I had a book in my hand and it brought back memories.

Memories of the many Usborne titles.

The memories it invoked were like this:

And this:

The item this week was a little different. It was bright, colourful and very useful. In fact I wouldn’t mind having a copy myself. It was The Usborne Cookbook for Children.

  • A bumper cookbook with 70 recipes taken from “The Usborne Children’s Cookbook” and “The Children’s Book of Baking”.
  • Contains both sweet and savoury recipes, including chicken stir-fry, salmon fishcakes, pizzas, ice-cream, mint choc chip muffins and a classic chocolate cake.
  • Each recipe is explained in simple step-by-step instructions and clear illustrations.
  • A super spiral-bound edition of two excellent recipe books for budding cooks.

It would make a wonderful gift for a fledgling cook out there of any age. The recipes were modern simple and inviting.

12 thoughts on “A Book to Drool Over

  1. @Geraldine – Welcome aboard. We had hours of fun with those books when Elly was little.

    @ChrisD – Sounds as if you didn’t like them!

  2. We had some of those with our two!

    Mind you Alyster wouldn’t read…he just wouldn’t…and then we discovered his visual stress and blue overlays…and he discovered Asterix.

  3. The best way to get picky eaters to eat, is let them make their own food. We have the “Possum Magic” cookbook and still make “Numbat Nachos” with baked beans and avocado . .yum!

  4. @Magpie – Elly was a great fan of Asterix. To be honest she was like a sponge for print, if there was nothing else she read ath cereal box small print!

    @Baino – Thankfully the only food Elly refused was Brussels sprouts. Pity she was not so fond of cooking back then. Now she is a great cook and I can’t take credit for it.

  5. That brings back good memories. I think they had an excellent ‘how to spy’ book that fired the imagination about writing secret messages in lemon juice and inventing disguises. We had hours of fun.

    I also loved the Richard Scarry books. Always so rich in the detail, your imagination just ran riot.

  6. We picked up The Usborne Book of Everyday Words in Irish, even though we’re grownups. I love it! It’s very appealing with the detailed scenes executed in clay. My inner language teacher thrills at the sight of it.

    I can’t remember very early favorite books of mine, except maybe A Child’s Garden of Verses. The first book I remember reading on my own was Charlotte’s Web. I was six, and I had a very hard time with the odd names of the characters; I couldn’t imagine how to pronounce them. I loved the story as it unfolded, but was completely unprepared to have a main character die. I was very upset, and I’ve never re-read it nor watched the recent movie. After being fed up with the ending of Stuart Little, I decided I would not read any more E. B. White. Nancy Drew and Trixie Belden for me! And horse stories for girls. :^)

  7. Stwidgie

    You bring back Elly’s childhood with the mention of all those books. Not sure she was in to the horsey ones though.

Comments are closed.