Olympic Games

So today sees the closing of the present Olympic extravaganza in Beijing. With wall to wall coverage of the events have you developed an interest in a new sport? Not having an eye for a ball or a love of water, sports of any kind were to be avoided in my book.

Now the other day while visiting Chrisb I discovered this little game What Olympic Sport Are You?

Naturally I had to give it a go and the answer was a real surprise…

You Are Kayaking

You have a competitive spirit, but you don’t like to compete alone.

You do well in a partnership, where you can feed off the other person’s energy.

If you have the right partner, nothing can stop you. Your energy is infinite!

So toyboys lets get started!
41 thoughts on “Olympic Games

  1. g’morning Grannymar. I got up ridiculously early this morning to watch the final of the basketball, really terrific match. But, according to the quiz, I’m more of a Badminton person: “You are quite talented but not very appreciated. You are detail oriented, very focused, and agile.
    You are happy to forsake glory for success in something you truly love”. Only quite talented, hmmmm….

  2. I don’t think I have a competitive bone in my body…and other then walking and not much lately…. I’m a spectator… Does that get a medal…I watch really well..

    Dorothy from grammology
    grammology.com

  3. I seem to be Table Tennis. Apparently I am vicious and sly:
    “You tend to win quickly, so quickly that your rival doesn’t realize that the game’s over.”

    I never enjoyed sports as a kid, especially those taught in gym class (which was all of them, except soccer). I did get enthused about pro basketball when Michael Jordan was playing here in Chicago; it really was thrilling to watch, and I knew who everyone on the team was. Then they reached a level of great stinkingness that left area billboards touting season tickets, with generic action photos of players.

    I’m afraid I’m Figure Skating for 2010, according to another one of those darned quizzes. And apparently my Irish Name is “Kayleigh O’Donovan”. EWWWWWWW!!!

    Thanks for the silly.

  4. I’m an Olympic gymnast (don’t snigger GM)

    And I got up early this morning to watch the boxing final to see if Ireland could bring home a gold medal. Not to be I’m afraid and I’m still no wiser as to how boxing is judged.

    I much preferred the finals of the men’s diving yesterday. My ironing never looked so well-pressed!

    Grannymar – I’d stick to surfing the net if I were you πŸ™„

  5. At this rate there will be a Grannymar International Sports Special for 2012!

    Chrisb & Dorothy will focus on Cheerleading while the sports will be taken care of by:

    We will be Charmed in the Badminton Court, while the talented Stwidgie multi-tasks with Table Tennis & Figure Skating and the brave Steph shows us her skills as a gymnast!

    I wonder what Nancy will do?

    Now come on Toyboys, sign up and don’t let the girls away with all the fun. Thay might think you are wimps!

  6. Well, Grannymar, apparently I am “Softball”. Hmmm

    I really wanted to be a gymnast like Steph but unlike the Chinese girls, I am too old. I already have my second teeth. Also, when I applied to be a gymnast they gave me one of those little costumes they wear and by the time I got it on , the event was over and I had defaulted.

    That was two weeks ago, and I’m still struggling to get the damned thing off!

    So, this is what I truly am. Blah!

    You Are Softball

    While you do like competing, you like cooperating even more.
    You find working with a group to be much more invigorating than going solo.
    You are a true team player. You like contributing to the win!

  7. @ Nancy πŸ˜†

    You’re not good for my health. My sides hurt from laughing so much.

    I’ll give you a tip…

    If you want to be a gymnast, you have to ‘go it alone’. Otherwise, I’d have to play stupid Softball too (shhhh!) πŸ˜€

    Grannymar – why aren’t you taking part in 2012? Find yourself a Toyboy and get surfing those rapids!

  8. Steph,

    I have an idea. You and I could do “SYNCHRONIZED BALANCE BEAM”

    We’d be a sensation. First help me get this GD costume on. Wait! Am I putting it on or taking it off????

    If I ever get it off I intend to save it and let the dog wear it for Holloween!

  9. πŸ˜† ROFL πŸ˜†

    Nancy – even though I’m a world class gymnast, my balance isn’t what it used to be. I had great difficulty standing on one leg while trying to get the other one into my skimpy costume.

    Maybe as we’re both ‘comfortable in water’, it would be better if we entered the “SYNCHRONIZED SWIMMING” event. What do you think?

  10. Now here’s a real hoot. Agile? Moi?

    “You Are Gymnastics
    You are agile, expressive, and precise.
    You have the drive to practice until you get something perfectly right.
    And you have the confidence to perform difficult moves when under pressure.”

    I am obviously not suited for any sport more difficult than tiddly winks. At the age of 83 and using a cane for balance wouldn’t I be great on the parallel bars?

  11. OK,Steph, you want me to do synchronized swimming with you, but I have a very important question to ask before I agree to plaster my hair back and spray it with epoxy glue and sprinkle on sequins and rhinestones, which you can’t remove for 12 years; and even then you need a jackhammer for the job…

    Here is my question and think carefully before answering.

    If one synchronized swimmer drowns, must they both drown?

  12. @Nancy

    Synchronised drowning πŸ˜†

    The good news is, I’m not allowed to put my head under water (my head leaks) so there’ll be no bottoms-up for either of us.

    I’m a bit worried about GM’s last comment…

    You don’t think she’s been at the sherry bottle again do you? πŸ™„

  13. I’m not sure but I did hear that her recipe for tomorrow was going to be Sherry Trifle.

    You don’t suppose she is making it ahead today to test the
    recipe and has accidently poured the Harveys Bristol Cream into her glass instead of the mixing bowl?

    Oh, Grannymar, say it isn’t so! Steph and I need you to sew up our tiny costumes for our “Sister Synchronized Swimming Show”. O.K. to be honest, our LARGE costumes.

  14. Nancy πŸ˜†

    I was hoping we’d be allowed to wear those bright yellow swimming hats with lots of flowers on them – you know the ones!

    Grannymar might sow the flowers onto the bottoms of our TINY costumes if we don’t rescue that sherry bottle fast.

    Then we really will be SENSATIONAL! πŸ˜€

  15. Ok, Steph and GM, I’m off for the day. I’m headed out to have a few “nips” Myself !!!!!

    I think Esther Williams has all those bright yellow bathing caps in her vault, SORRY!

  16. Looks like it’s just you and me then, GM

    I’ve just had another idea for using our costumes…

    Nancy, Darlene, you and I, could practice BATON TWIRLING

    It’s a serious competitive sport and I think we’d look real good πŸ˜‰

  17. I am Gymnastic GM …………..

    You are agile, expressive, and precise.
    You have the drive to practice until you get something perfectly right.
    And you have the confidence to perform difficult moves when under pressure.

    πŸ™‚

  18. I would have to twirl the baton with one hand. I need the other to hold my cane. Of course if I fell down It might spoil the show and we would never get the gold. We would get a few laughs, though. How about a comedy routine?

  19. @Darlene – If I was in the team it would be a comedy! πŸ™„

    @Thrifty – Could you teach Baino, wherever she is, to shoot arrows in Paddy’s direction?

    @Judy – Come in and twirl along with us.

  20. I am also a kayaker (is that even a word?). Granny I say we sit in the boat and be the centerpiece to this synchro baton swimming extravaganza. We can set the drinks on the end of our paddles and offer them to the other ladies as they glide by…

  21. Huh! I’m badminton!!!!! Trouble is there’s always a hole in my bat or racquet!

    What a great stroke …over the net and just inside the base line. My point….hang on while I fetch the shuttlecock/ball from behind me!

    My service?
    Grunt! ow by dose! Flat odd by faith adain!

  22. I’m back!!!! So do you really want to play Badminton?

    Let’s make it interesting and use real birds!

  23. Apparently I am the ridiculous Badminton.

    “You are quite talented but not very appreciated.
    You are detail oriented, very focused, and agile.
    You are happy to forsake glory for success in something you truly love.”

    Booooooooooring. I wanted to be something cool like BMX…

  24. With my co-ordination an ordinarl bike is bad enough let alone BMX

    How about being armchair coaches?

    A good drop of something special to hand and all that knowledge gleaned form the touch lines at school and the armchair since!

  25. @Megan – Welcome on board. I like the idea of us sitting in the boat as the centerpiece to the synchro baton swimming extravaganza. Is your hand steady enough to set the drinks on the end of the paddles for the other ladies as they glide by?

    @Steph If you cook my6 meals I will start sewing sequins tomorrow!

    @Magpie – leave the racquet at home, You can look after the costumes!

    @Baino – We can line you up between Nancy and Steph!

    @Nancy – I am appointing you head girl so you get to keep the others in order.

    @ChrisD & Gav – You will both stay on the boat… afterall GM needs Toyboys at her elbow to save her from splashes!

  26. Apparently it thinks I’m Archery

    “You are a bit of a traditionalist. You like old fashioned things with deep traditions.
    You also like to see the result of your accomplishments right in front of you.
    If practice makes perfect, that’s fine by you. You like to practice a skill.”

    Does it think I’m cupid? And I should be armed πŸ™‚

    duck!

  27. Ooh – I’m Badminton. Who’d have thought it?

    ‘You are quite talented but not very appreciated.
    You are detail oriented, very focused, and agile.
    You are happy to forsake glory for success in something you truly love.’

    I like the ‘quite talented’ bit!

  28. Back @ granny – I’m sure that between the two of us we won’t spill much…but that might be wishful thinking.

Comments are closed.