What do they call you

“Did you hear wee Annie got away?” said a woman in the queue waiting to buy a stamp.

“Who was that?” asked her companion.

“Wee Annie Blair. She was Cameron to her own!”

So wee Annie Blair nee Cameron died. Wee Annie was married to Joe Blair for nigh on fifty years, yet she was still known locally as Annie Cameron.

My given name is Marie. Maaaaaare to my family, Mareeee to school pals. My mother and sister were both called Eileen. Visitors to the house or callers on the phone always said “Hello Eileen”, well two thirds of the time they were correct so why bother.

Later I became Darling, Mammy, mum and have now settled comfortably with Grannymar.

How are you known?

Is it by the name you were given at birth, a variation of it or by a name you picked yourself? If you were to change your name by deed poll what would it be?

27 thoughts on “What do they call you

  1. My mother’s family are so bad for the name thing…my mother’s name is Mary but she has always been Marie (pronounced the same way as your name). My Aunts name is Deborah (pronounced De-Bore-Ah) but she has always been called Ann. My uncles name was always Noel as far as I was concerned, I thought I was at the wrong funeral when the priest kept calling him Michael. And just the other day I was giving out that I don’t like my middle name (Josephine) and my mother says, ever so casually that she called me that after her mother…..wait a second, I thought your mother’s name was Mary?

    I suppose I’m as bad, my name is Marian but everyone except my family calls me Maz, although I’ve resurected “Marian” through the new blog πŸ™‚

  2. I’m quite odd in that regard, I don’t let anyone call me Andrew (although my mum & girlfriend, when shes angry, get away with it) and I hate people using my surname. I’ve therefore gone, under no invention of my own, under Andy Yeeeeeeeeee (livejournal username long time past), Andy Tenye, Andy Tenbeards and most recently Andy goodonpaper.

  3. Yeah, names are interesting. Remember that case a while back about “Talulah from Hawaii does the Hula”, court judge ordered the child into care until the parents copped on and changed the name. Ach, parents, do they know what they’re doing at all at all with the monikers they lumber their offspring with.
    My parents decided my good siblings and I should all have Irish names (and we have) but then put the english version on our birth certs. Great fun:-)

  4. Residing in interweb land for the last few years I have developed a number of aliases. Some of my friends only refer to me as “Lottie” and I have now become accustomed to that.

    I was called “Chippy” for years when I was little as my next door neighbour couldn’t pronounce “Elizabeth”. It kinda stuck and I was referred to by “Chippy” until I was 12/13.

    My dad always called me “Eilish”. My nanny refers to me by my full name only. Most people call me “Liz”. One friend gets away with calling me “Lizzie” and my boyfriend calls my “Lyons”.

    I have been called other naems – but none I can say in Grannymars company.

  5. “My name is Primal, pronounced Rimal – the P is silent, as in bath.”

    :I – Picks head up off floor and goes on merry way.

  6. I’ve always been Nell . . my Grandmar was Ellen and copped Nell, so being Helen, my dad gave it to me as well. I hated it but like curly hair, you just can’t fight it. Also Baino, and Mum or Ma . . maiden name was Dunn so clearly I got Dunny (um an Aussie euphamism for an outside loo!) Bloggys know me as Baino which is also ClareBares’ nickname so that causes confusion. Frankly you can call me whatever you like . . although as a child I always fancied Wendy (Peter Pan syndrome perhaps?)

  7. I was christened Robo by work colleagues because I used to be very big and very strong – this was before my chest slipped a bit.

    Roland Manahattan on a milk bill once.

    Ro-Ro by most of my toddler nieces and nephews.

    Auntie Rowan by one slightly confused Godson.

    Toa Bue by my martial arts teacher (after my chest slipped a bit).

    Ro by my wife, unless I’m in trouble in which case it’s Ro-WAN!

    Daddy by my precious angels.

  8. I’m now known as Darragh. Dar to some, though Daz, Dazzah, D and Doyler are all acceptable too. Being called Darren is not. Not even a little.

    Darragh was actually the name I had before I was adopted and my folks decided not to change it. When they brought me home I had already been gifted Edward and Andrew as second names, though the Doyles thought it best that their new, somewhat ill son, best not to have D.E.A.D as his initials. So I became Darragh John (for my father and his) William (for my mother’s father) Doyle. And am proud to be so.

    When I met you Marie, I couldn’t call you anything but Grannymar, even in my head. That’s what you’re down under in my phone and all!

  9. Mary, Mary Majella, Jella, Mary Burns, Mary Byrne, Mary B, Madge, Mammy, Mum, Moms, Ma, Nelly.

    I’m due to change my name soon and I haven’t quite decided….

  10. I’m grateful to my parents for calling me ‘Stephanie’ – no reason, it’s just a name they liked and I love it too.

    I’ve always been known as ‘Steph’ except in formal situations.

    Sometimes I’m called ‘Steffie’ but thankfully never ‘Fanny’

    My aunt Beth used to call me ‘Tep’ or ‘Teppie’ when I was lickle.

    The funny thing now is, that my mother (who suffers from dementia) thinks that I’m her sister, Beth. She introduces me to people at the nursing home as “this is my sister, Beth”. I whisper in her ear “I’m your daughter” and she then re-introduces me as “this is my daughter, Beth” πŸ™‚

  11. Wow!
    Grannymar had a busy morning and everyone has time to play. I am rushing out to meet a nice Toyboy now so I will talk to you all later……. if he lets me go. πŸ™„

  12. Well GM christened me Eleanor, and I was called that all the way until I was 20, don’t really remember it being shortened much…

    Then I moved to France where they pronounce it ELL-EE-AN-OR (pronouncing every last letter basically). On the rugby pitch they decided this was too long to shout out, so they shortened it to the first two syllables “ELL-EE”. I chose to spell this “Elly”.

    When I moved back to Scotland to finish university, some of my French friends came over to spend a year studying in the same place as me. I shared a house with some of them and they kept calling me “Elly” and it kind of transferred over to the locals.

    I moved back to Ireland and was “Eleanor” again, until I started blogging as “ellybabes” my internet handle since 1998 and then people started using “Elly” again. Even my husband and GM have switched over now…

  13. When I was born in 1928 my Mother wanted to call me

    Nancy. When she went to the priest at St. Louis Parish in

    Yeadon,Pennsylvania the priest told her that there was no

    St.Nancy and she would have to have me baptised Ann.

    So, I was called Ann at church and Catholic school but my

    family and friends always called me Nancy.

    Once, when I was about 10 years old, I asked my Mother

    why she didn’t name me Nancy when she filled out the

    papers for the civil authorities (i.e. The State of PA.)

    I swear this was her answer.

    “Oh, I couldn’t do that. Suppose the Pope found out?”

  14. Jenny Wren was what my gran used to nickname me.

    But I made a deliberate decision at some point to be Jen. Didn’t like Jenny (felt too girly) and Jennifer was too serious.

    However, these days I also answer to my married surname, which is also a girl’s name. People get confused when they see an email from me, they use the first bit they remember… πŸ™‚

    One of my aunties was nicknamed ‘Diddy’ for years. Not because she was short (although she was) but because one of my cousin’s couldn’t say her name when she was young. Instead of ‘Linda’, all she could get out was ‘Diddy’ – and it stuck!

    My husband is known by his middle name, as his first name is one that a few of the guys in the family have. But, just to complicate things further, he’s always been known by the diminutive of his middle name… I don’t think he’d answer to either his given name or his full middle name if you used them – he’d just think you were talking to someone else.

  15. As a Teacher ….NEVER “Sir!” always Mr. Mills…

    Never Daaaaaave…or Dave….. ‘though at one time my mother tried to get me to call myself that and I was so soppy about my first girlfriend I let her get away with calling me “My Dave”!

    Pet name was, ” John Willie”…that got me into trouble on my first day at Grammar School…teacher was going round the class asking names…he got to me and said, “And what’s your name, John Willie?”
    “That’s right,” I replied and received a hundred lines: I must not be rude to teachers. And a laugh!

    The worrying thing is that I remember it….

    Nick name? “Actually”….I was always saying,” Actually…so and so…”

  16. Grannymar,

    I was told it was etiquette in Irish to use a woman’s maiden suname when using her Christian name and to use her husband’s name when referring to her as ‘Mrs’ – thus Annie Cameron and Mrs Joe Blair. In Co Down, the tradition was observed even amongst the Protestant communities, which meant a clergyman had to know maiden names to keep track of people.

    Ian

    – who has always been thus!

  17. I had a nickname in High School. I was 13 years old when my brother was born and when he talked he had trouble with L’s. So he called me Darnene. Some of my friends heard him and shortened it to Dene. For the remainder of High School I was called Dean or Deanie by the kids. The nickname mercifully went with my friends as they left my life.

    I do remember some girls tried to call me Dolly in Junior High, but I hated that and it didn’t last long.

    The trouble I had with names was when I got married. My maiden name was Hill. No problem there; everyone could pronounce it and spell it. But Costner. Oh my. I was called Caster, Castner, Coster and other variations until my husband’s distant cousin, Kevin, became famous and now I have no problem with the name.

  18. If I were to change my name by deed poll, I’d choose ‘Mystery White Bird – Soaring Free’.
    Now as far as I know, I don’t have American Indian or Maori ancestors (but if I could be anything other than a human it would be a bird). It’s just that to me, an Albatross on the wing is the epitome of natural beauty, brave heart and free spirit…. Everything I wish I was.

  19. Finally, finally the toyboy has let me go! But…. Oh boy, what a night!

    I so enjoyed all the comments above and thank you all for sharing them. You know if I was any good t this blogging lark, I’d come up with a post for each of them.

    You have jogged memories for me with each and every entry.

    Elly you forgot Nell! I called my little toddler Nell when I wanted her to fetch me something from under the stairs… yes, in a bungalow. Is it any wonder she turned out like she did! πŸ˜‰

    Now if you want details of what happened, please be patient. All I will say for the moment is that I am in Dublin…….!

  20. Now if you want details of what happened, please be patient. All I will say for the moment is that I am in Dublin…….!

    Well what a coincidence! So am I!!

    (I hear tell there was all sorts of shenanigans!)

  21. My family is alright its mostly my moms side though. My real name is Alexandria but my aunt calls me Dolly. My cousin can’t pronunce my name right so he says Alice (Alex is the most common one for me.) And my aunt cals one of my other cousins Bella

  22. Dolly/Alex, hello and welcome.

    I had forgotten about this post, thanks for giving me the opportunity to reread it!

Comments are closed.