The Kilt.

On Saturday I wrote about Men in Skirts.

17 Pipe Band Championships

I have always liked kilts.

1980.10 The twins

Guess who went to Scotland for holidays?

I still have a kilt in my wardrobe. In fact when Elly was young I actually made one for her. A well made kilt enhances both men and women of all ages, shapes and sizes. Dancer’s kilts use 10 oz. Tartan wool. A man’s kilt uses 13 oz, or, preferably, 16 oz. tartan, which doesn’t crush and holds the pleats well. If you think about it, a kilt is the equivalent of three layers of fabric across the back and a double layer at the front. They are very heavy, warm and comfortable to wear particularly in cooler climates.

A certain young lady let it be known on my blog the other day that she was curious to know what is under a Kilt. She came to the right person. I spent some time searching for an appropriate little video in order to complete this shy refined young lady’s education.

So just for Lottie I present:

Ok, so the real secret is:

Now you know!

27 thoughts on “The Kilt.

  1. I had one as well, I don’t think it was a proper one though, my mother and I both hate wool so there’s no way she would have made me wear a real tartan one, it was probably a cotton version. I liked it though. I also remember having a tartan pattern trousers back in the 80’s.

  2. Ow! That’s just put me off my brekkie! πŸ˜†

    “A man’s kilt uses 13 oz, or, preferably, 16 oz. tartan, which doesn’t crush and holds the pleats well.”

    Ah yeah…

    They’d need that extra weight to hold everything in place 😳

  3. @Maz – I didn’t go as far as wearing tartan trews.

    @Steph – You are forgetting about the Sporran – stragetically placed!

    It gives a whole new meaning to ‘Man Bag’ πŸ˜‰

  4. That’s just one of the many reasons I miss Scotland… (big sigh). Thanks for putting a smile on my face on a rainy morning πŸ™‚

  5. A Scotsman clad in kilt left the bar one evening fair
    And one could tell by how he walked he’d drunk more than his share
    He staggered on until he could no longer keep his feet
    Then stumbled off into the grass to sleep beside the street

    Later on two young and lovely girls just happened by,
    And one says to the other with a twinkle in her eye
    You see yon sleeping Scotsman who is young and handsome built
    I wonder if it’s true what they don’t wear beneath their kilt.

    Ring ding diddle diddle i de o
    Ring di diddle i o
    I wonder if it’s true what they don’t wear beneath their kilt.

    They crept up to the sleeping Scotsman quiet as could be
    Then lifted up his kilt about an inch so they could see
    And there behold for them to view beneath his Scottish skirt
    Was nothing but what God had graced him with upon his birth

    Ring ding diddle diddle i de o
    Ring di diddle i o
    There was nothing there but what God gave upon his birth

    They marveled for a moment then one said we’d best be gone
    But let’s leave a present for our friend before we move along
    They took a blue silk ribbon and they tied it in a bow
    Around the bonnie spar that the Scot’s lifted kilt did show

    Ring ding diddle diddle i de o
    Ring di diddle i o
    Around the bonnie spar that the Scot’s lifted kilt did show

    The Scotsman woke to nature’s call and stumbled toward a tree
    Behind a bush he lifts his kilt and gawks at what he sees
    Then in a startled voice he says to what’s before his eyes
    He said, “Lad I don’t know where you’ve been but I see you won first
    prize”

    Ring ding diddle diddle i de o
    Ring di diddle i o
    He said, “Lad I don’t know where you’ve been but I see you won first
    prize”

  6. @Lottie – Go easy! You will make yourself ill with all the excitement.

    @Jen – Glad to recall memories for you.

    @Nancy – Were you the lassie with the ribbon? πŸ™„

    @Baino – Was I glad that George and his entourage didn’t want to wear kilts at the wedding last year! πŸ˜€

    @Judy – you could still go there!

  7. I’m offline for 3 weeks (or so) and come back expecting to find a nice recipe and all I see is saucey men’s btm’s!! (Not complaining though)!
    Good for you GM. !

  8. GM

    What’s Nancy on?

    Whatever it is, I’d like some please πŸ˜€

    *bonnie spar* πŸ˜†

    I nearly spilt my tea laughing!

  9. @Geri – Did you like the welcome home parade then? πŸ™„

    @Steph – I could do with Nancy Pills too. πŸ˜‰

  10. Grannymar, please don’t drag my good lady down to your level. She’s a clean-living, wholesome wee lass, you know!

  11. GM

    Have you noticed what I’ve noticed?

    There’s an ominous silence from the menfolk today (except Darren – who still managed to avoid a comment on the subject matter).

    Waddayathink?

  12. GM

    I think that they think that you think that they are shy πŸ˜‰

    But you and I know they really know that you and I know…

    they’ve been exposed πŸ˜†

Comments are closed.