I found them!

Yesterday I went looking for Toyboys in skirts.

The East Antrim Pipe band Championships were held in the Playing Fields of the High School. Much organisation went into the day providing fun for all the family with stalls, face painting and bouncy castles Alas, the one thing they failed to organise was the weather.

The sun was shining as I left home, but I was well washed by the time I reached the field. There were of course distractions on the way…

So this is where they left their equiptment…

There were some fine kilts on display

Piping needs preparation

On parade to face the Judges

31 thoughts on “I found them!

  1. Lottie

    The grass? It was the rain honest! πŸ™„

    Do you think I’m going to share my secrets?

  2. Grannymar,

    This looks like a fun way to spend a day. They all look so splendid in their kilts. I’ll bet the music was good,too.

    Unfortunately, the only time we get to hear bagpipes here is at a funeral. They always have a piper at a policeman or fireman’s funeral. I suppose that’s because most of the police and firemen in America are of Irish descent.

    Anyway, I’m glad you went and I really loved the pictures.

  3. Nancy,

    I am not the greatest fan of pipes and drums. They are fine in the wide open spaces. I did hear some good music on Saturday and it was good to see nicely turned out bands.

    My efforts at mini videos were not good enough to post. I blame the dull & darker day. πŸ˜‰

  4. Give me the Uillean and small pipes any day…..
    Highland pipes are best heard singly and from a distance of at least half a mile…seriously, there’s something haunting about them then.

  5. Magpie

    The pipes of any kind are tolerable to me. Alas I am unable to say the same for Ceili.

  6. I love listening to bapipes! I remember years ago, we belonged to a subscription performance service with a local university. Several times the Royal Bagpipers (sorry I can’t remember their names or regiments) played here, and it was so much fun to see them drill and play.

  7. GM’s next holiday must be in Greece… boys there wear skirts too! And little slippers with pompoms on!

  8. I love the kilts. I bought one when I visited Scotland, but the moths loves it too. Alas, my pretty kilt is no more.

    Unfortunately, like Nancy, I associate bagpipes with funerals. They are played at every military funeral here and the music is haunting and brings tears to my eyes when nothing else will. In fact, I am getting a bit misty just thinking about it.

  9. @Judy – I am pleased to bring you happy memories.

    @Magpie – I have been to Greece and several Greek islands. The uniform is rather unusual.

    @Darlene – Don’t get all misty, you won’t be able to read the blogs.

  10. Don’t ask me why, because I don’t particularly like the tunes, but bagpipes make me cry . . I think they give that reverberating deep in the chest vibration that causes an emotional response. We had a piper for my father’s funeral (he was a great fan of the Edinburgh Tatoo so it seemed fitting) However, he was way to close and the noise reverberated around our little chapel. It was the only point in a sad day where everybody laughed! Oh, and I have a thing about men in kilts . . .

  11. @Mike – The beach seems like a good place to play the bagpipes, plenty of wide open space.

    @Baino – I like the men in kilts too!

  12. Out there chasing skirts, GM, looks good on ya. Nice change from the old trousers. Do you remember trews? I haven’t seen a pair in a long time. My ex used to wear a kilt as part of a scottish regiment and NONE of them wore you knows.
    We used to do the scottish dances and try and swing the guys really hard around.
    It made for some exciting spotting.
    XO
    WWW

  13. I dunno… πŸ™„

    I take my eyes off GM for five minutes and she runs off to chase men in skirts…

    and inspect their equipment! πŸ™„

  14. I don’t know Paddy, I think a kilt would be comfortable on a hot day (cooling breezes and all that).
    But what does an Irish (or Northern Irish) piper wear under his kilt?
    And does GM have a collection of photos which will be held dear to here memory card? πŸ™‚

  15. @Paddy – You made me think…. I wonder if I could arrange a Grannymar tartan? Would you wear it then?

    @WWW – You have answered Lottie’s question πŸ˜‰ Jack had trews when I met him…. We soon sorted that one out. πŸ˜€

    @Steph – There was plenty of equipment about! πŸ™„

    @Will – A friend in Scotland said that wearing a kilt left a fellow very warm. It stands to reason with three layers of fabric across the back (pleats) and a double layer at the front. The fabric is usually a 6ounce 100% wool.

    I might have photos held dear to my memory, but not on the card πŸ˜‰

  16. Just remembered!

    The modern Kilt was apparently invented by a Lancashire wool industrialist for his workers to wear int he mills!

  17. I have to add one more thing, albeit belated. There’s an old joke about the Scotsman who had a tilt in his Kilt. ;).

    Also, there’s the Mel Gibson movie where the whole army in kilts mooned the enemies before battle, thus answering the question of what is under the Kilt.

  18. @Magpie- I never heard that tale about the Lancashire Industrialist.

    @Darlene – I am sure there was many a Scotsman who had a tilt in his Kilt! πŸ™„

  19. Pingback: Grannymar » The Kilt.

  20. Pingback: Grannymar » Children

  21. One person mentioned skirts worn by males in Greece. Here’s a video. Notice these are pleated all around—I have read statements saying the flat front of the kilt, plus the fact it buckles and pins on the right, is what makes it “male.” The Greeks don’t consider their skirt pleated all around makes it anything but male. Flat or pleated, those are only style differences. Thomas Rawlinson thought the “arpon” front of the kilt was better for factory work. In WWI and WWII, managers relented and allowed women to wear pants. That was the ONLY successful force changing what women wear. Without those wars, it’s doubtful women would be free to wear pants today. Don’t tell me if I want to wear a skirt it has to be a kilt—I’m French.

Comments are closed.