Thursday Special ~ The Silent Treatment

A man and his wife were having some problems at home and were giving each other the silent treatment. Suddenly, the man realized that the next day, he would need his wife to wake him at 5 a.m. for an early morning business flight.

Not wanting to be the first to break the silence (and LOSE), he wrote on a piece of paper, ‘Please wake me at 5 a.m.’ He left it where he knew she would find it.

The next morning, the man woke up, only to discover it was 9a.m. and he had missed his flight Furious, he was about to go and see why his wife hadn’t wakened him, when he noticed a piece of paper by the bed. The paper said, ‘It is 5a.m. Wake up.’

Men are not equipped for these kinds of contests.

God may have created man before woman, but there is always a rough draft before the masterpiece

20 thoughts on “Thursday Special ~ The Silent Treatment

  1. @GM great joke 🙂

    @Mike – oh I reckon GM would be where she is now. It’s where all us Toyboys would be without Grannymar is a far scarier prospect. Imagine – where would we get our hugs?

  2. @Darragh I rekon GM needs us just as much. Hugs make the world go around
    @GM at what stage did the the husband inform his wife about the surprise shopping trip to London!. I bet he gave her a note
    Did I pass the maths test?

  3. Ah yes, the all picture, no sound treatment by the female. Hell, fury and all that.

    As Norm Peterson said, women: you can’t live with them. Pass me the beer nuts.

  4. A man goes to see the Rabbi. “Rabbi, something terrible is happening and I have to talk to you about it.”

    The Rabbi asks,”What’s wrong?”

    The man replies,” My wife is poisoning me.”

    The Rabbi, very surprised, asks,”How can that be?”

    The man then pleads,”I’m telling you, I’m certain she is poisoning me, what should I do?”

    The rabbi then offers,”Tell you what, let me talk to her.I’ll see what I can find out and let you know.”

    A week later the rabbi calls the man and says,” Well, I spoke to your wife. I talked to her on the phone for three hours. You want my advice?”

    The man said Yes and the Rabbi replied,” Take the poison”.

  5. Err, why did he not just use an alarm clock? Or the old trick of drinking a load before bed and therefore having to wake up to pee? He was just stupid, that’s not confined to gender.

  6. @Nancy – I can’t make up my mind, did the Rabbi have sympathy for the husband or did he want him out of the way? 🙄

    @Thrifty – Since when did a man pay attention to the alarm clock? 😉

  7. Hmm, I’m just grumpy because I don’t need the alarm clock these days,waking up too early. We do pay attention to our bladders though. Actually I almost never need an alarm clock, if I need to be awake at a certain time I am. I’m weird.

  8. Thrifty

    My husband always put the alarm on yet he woke five minutes before it every day. How? When he was ready for sleep he just thought for a few minutes about the time he needed to get up.

    Well that is what he told me… he might have thought about a buxom blond for all I knew. 😉

  9. Do people still use alarm clocks these days?

    I always set the alarm on my mobile and together with it’s snooze facility, it never lets me down.

    @ Thrifty

    You’ll enjoy this…

    The summer I met my ‘man’ (1976), we went camping in the Outer Hebrides, for three weeks.

    GM will remember this – It was a summer like we haven’t had since, with non-stop sunshine (and NO, I wasn’t wearing rose tinted glasses!)

    Anyway…

    We bought a ‘rover’ ticket which gave us free rein to explore all the islands by ferry, stopping off to camp on each one overnight.

    The ferries between the islands, tended to depart very early in the mornings.

    We had no alarm clock between us (no mobiles in those days) so ‘yer man’ would feed me loads of coffee in the evening to guarantee we’d be up early enough to catch the ferry 😦

    No need to worry, I’ve had plenty of opportunity to get my own back 😈

  10. Steph

    ’76 was a good year and not just for weather. That was the year I met Jack. Oh, and 1976 was a leap year.

  11. Very funny, Grannymar and Nancy. Who thinks these jokes up? They travel across the ocean and even did so before the Internet. That has always been a mystery to me.

  12. Waking up?

    If you want to wake up at six o’clock just gently bang your head on the pillow six times each time saying, “Six o’clock.” or seven times for seven o’clock, five times for five etc..obviously you don’t say six o’clock for these 😉

    Used to work at school……

    As for stories…do you know the story of Jim and Michael who went hiking in the hills…?

  13. Magpie

    I never heard the story of Jim and Michael who went hiking in the hills…?

    Dare I ask?

Comments are closed.