Thursday Special ~ Sometimes being nice is difficult.

A very loud, scruffy, cigarette smoking woman walked into Asda with her two children, yelling obscenities at them all the way through the entrance.

A member of the Customer Service Team (CST) said pleasantly, ‘Good morning, and welcome to Asda. Nice children you have there. Are they twins? ‘The woman stopped yelling long enough to say, ‘No way, they are not! The oldest one’s 9 and the other one’s 7. Why the hell would you think they’re twins? Are you blind, or just stupid?’

‘I’m neither blind nor stupid’ replied the CS person. ‘I just couldn’t believe someone would sleep with you twice. Have a good day and thank you for shopping at Asda.

29 thoughts on “Thursday Special ~ Sometimes being nice is difficult.

  1. I think I bumped into this same woman in a restaurant last week. ‘British behaving badly’? No, just tourist season upon us again and (some) people ‘flipping completely out’ once away from home….!

  2. Thats great, I’ll have to remember that one, although I’m not sure what’s worse fake OTT niceness or the usual lack of interest you find in shop staff these days.

    Andrew

  3. @Steph – A chuckle a day, makes us work rest and play! (Sorry Mars.)

    @Geri – Some of them don’t even need to leave home.

    @Andrew – I hope you don’t use it to your customers!

    @ ChrisB – 😀

  4. @Gary – Welcome on board. I wish you well on your road to Santiago de Compostela.

    @Andrew – That is one good thing about blogging, so long as you change the names!

  5. A guy walks into a shop. “You got one of them Marshall Hiwatt AC30 amplificatior thingies and a Gobson StratoBlaster geetar with a Fried Rose tremulo?”, The shop assistant politely retorted, “You’re a drummer, aren’t you?”, “Duh, yeah. How’d you know?”
    “This is a travel agency.”

    And you thought all ‘those’ jokes were about blondes (don’t tell DrummerBoy)

  6. That’s a good one, Baino! I love it… Your story was great,too Grannymar….

  7. Great!

    I remember years ago hearing a woman tell a child, as they came out of a supermarket, “You’re a sack of garbage!”

    Why didn’t I intervene?

  8. Grannymar,

    Almost done. The floor man was here this morning at 7 A.M. to install new kitchen flooring. He finished half of the job and has now gone out for lunch.

    Something funny happened today. Roy and I went to McDonald’s for breakfast because we couldn’t use our kitchen and as we sat in the restaurant I looked out at the Drive in window and saw a woman giving her whole order into the trash can.

    Suddenly, she realized and pulled her car up to the proper ordering place but she was flustered because she knew the whole place had seen her do it. I tried not to laugh but it was too funny. I looked for the Candid Camera….

  9. @ Nancy

    ROFLOL!

    That’s hilarious! You should try breakfast there more often… for the entertainment factor if nothing else.

  10. Nancy

    Did she put her cash in the trash can? She will pay attention in future.

  11. Oh, that’s too funny. I love the quick thinking of the CS person and his/her reply is a classic. I usually think of those comebacks in the middle of the night under the heading, “I wish I’d said that.”

  12. Nancy, I would love to have seen the woman talking to the trash can. That would make my day to know that I am not the only one who does embarrassing things.

  13. My mind is in going walkabout today!

    @stwidgie – years ago I might have walked past when I heard abuse. Nowadays I am more inclined to say something.

    @Chris D – I am sure you would not forget the niceties.

    @Darlene – Welcome to the party. I often have those ‘I wish’ moments too. Nancy always has a good story.

    @Darren – 😀

  14. There’s an idea for you GM. Darlene has made me think of embarrassing moments we have all had.

    Maybe you could ask your commenters what their most embarrassing moment was…… Could be fun!

  15. Nancy

    Thank you for the idea, would I have to give my embarrassing moment?

    It might happen sooner than you think! 😉

  16. I know that woman…tried to teach her kids once!

    Question…LOL seems to change its meaning from day to day..why?

    As we’re telling stories:

    A friend of mine tells this one..he plays banjo…

    Went to the bank and left my car parked outside. My lovely John Grey banjo on the back seat.

    Came out and saw that some mean b****** had smashed the rear window.

    Went to look !

    Mean B******* isn’t the right description…

    He had blooming well left me another banjo!

    Have also heard same story about a) a Guaneri Viola and
    b) a Bodhran

  17. @Judy – Alas we all do

    @Magpie – Sometimes the parents need more correction than the children!

  18. @JD – But you would never say anything like that.

    @Lette – I just feel sorry for them.

Comments are closed.