I wish I was…

I wish I was in Carrickfergus. So goes the song.

Walking in the sunshine and perhaps watching a ferry as it leaves the port of Belfast through the lough on its journey to the open sea and Scotland. Looking across the stretch of water to the south side of the Lough and the landfall of Co Down. Talking to passersby as they exercise their legs or those of their dogs, while these little fellows call their greeting.

Carrickfergus also holds an Aladdins Cave for me in the form of Craftwoman Fabrics. It is a Fabric Warehouse at Kilroot, yet without a Website, where a very friendly staff are helpful and willing to share their knowledge in any area of sewing or needlecraft.

Today I had planned to visit but my plans are twarted once again. Today is not one where I feel like driving so I content myself with staying home and playing with fabric, measuring tape and pins. I am trying to stay away from the computer for a few hours, but normal reading, commenting and general playing should resume in a day or so.

9 thoughts on “I wish I was…

  1. I wish I was…

    somewhere, anywhere where the sun is shining! 😎

    Batten down the hatches, Grannymar

    You’re not missing anything outside today.

  2. Sounds a lovely place the way you tell it – I can see it all before me – and almost smell the salt in the air…
    Well it can’t rain forever (can it?) and happily you’ve found a bit of fabric to play with. I never got past making a baby bib at school, although I have knit a jumper or two – and if this weather keeps up I might just be off down to the yarn shop (if I can find one (!) no one over here seems to knit anymore).

  3. Hi GM,
    With weather like this you’re better off staying inside & dry unless you absolutely have to go out. Enjoy your few days rest if that’s what you are up to 🙂

  4. Sounds like you’re having a pretty ordinary summer. I have Ireland on my Google home page and he temps are similar to hear in the winter. If it’s any consolation GM, I can hardly type, my fingers are needles and pins It’s 6:44 and there’s a heavy frost on the ground . . brrrrrr (no I am inside, our houses just aren’t built for the chill)

  5. @Steph – We had sunshine for most of the day. The rain only arrived at 5p.m.

    @Roy – I hope your singing is better than mine. 😉

    @Geri – I found a wonderful shop in Amsterdam, it was a needlepoint and cross stitch heaven.

    @Mike – Which hotel was it?

    @Niamh – Thank you, but I hope to be back to normal tomorrow.

    @Baino – I was feeling that cold last night!

Comments are closed.