There are days…

There are days when I find myself surfing. No, not that kind of surfing.

I never liked swimming, because after one minute immersion I would start to shiver and my teeth would chatter louder than a Reggae Band. The air might not be blue but my body certainly would be. Opening the freezer door in my house requires more preparation than a polar expedition! So surfing the ocean waves is not my kettle of fish.

My surfing takes place in warm surroundings while sitting comfortably, and the only extremities necessary are my fingers. You guessed it; I surf the Net!

Well it is better than golf! If I joined a Golf club in this country, I would be battered and soaked by the elements and only be allowed play on Lady’s day while listening to the latest gossip about who wore this, or how dreadful Flossie looked in that outfit. You know exactly what it would be like! The Bar always peopled by men, far too old and boring for membership of my Toyboy Club! Their only topics are about chips, slices, woods, irons and handicaps! Now I have enough handicaps of my own without taking on any others πŸ™„

My surfing on the Net opens doors to new subjects and areas for exploration. I find them from links in blogs, shared items, online newspapers & magazines, emails and dear old Auntie Google ❗

One of my latest forays brought me to:

Mike Moore B.A. M.ed who is a Humorist – Author – Cartoonist – Musician.

I thank him and agree wholeheartedly with this little snippet:

“What People Learn Laughing They Never Forget”

“It is impossible to worry while you’re laughing.”

All I would add is that a day without laughter is a day wasted!

14 thoughts on “There are days…

  1. Amen to that.

    Laughter is definitely the best medicine … unless you happen to be diabetic, in which case insulin might be the safer and more efficacious option.

  2. I would have to doubt the notion of it being impossible to worry while laughing, I know from our own experience, we may be wetting ourselves but it’s usually at the absurdity of the situation we’ve ended up in, and worry is never far behind.

    Having said that, we need to laugh, I’m not going to blab about laughter being the best medicine and all that, but it’s as vital as oxygen for a life to thrive.

    Laugh on!

  3. Rowan Manahan ~ Medications naturally come first as they can help us enjoy and partake in laughter. I try not to laugh when taking my pills, to have them going down the wrong lane would not be funny.

    Xbox ~ Laughter breaks tension, relieves stress an turns the lines on our faces upward, giving us a more youthful look!

  4. I think I laugh more than Jenny, I have a tendency to turn even the most serious subjects into a joke. I just have a strong sense of irony, so I can always see the ridiculous side of something as much as the deadpan side. Gets me into trouble sometimes when people think I’m being flippant. But yes, laughter’s the best medicine – research shows it keeps you healthy.

  5. Grannymar – you’re a real surfing dude! πŸ˜€

    I’m heading upstairs right now to tickle my daughter Poppy, in the hope that she’ll remember what’s she’s studying for the dreaded Leaving Cert which begins next week! πŸ˜‰

    I find surfing the net leaves me totally cold… I mean freezing!

    I’ll have to get pedals fixed to the underside of my computer so that I can cycle to keep warm while I surf πŸ˜‰

  6. I’ve been told on more than one occasion that I laugh too much or laugh at everything. I laugh a lot. I find laugh funny; whether its just the absurdity of the things we do or the fact that someone even though of [whatever I’m finding funny at the time].

    I do like the twist things around to make them funny, sometimes rude, but not always.

    It is definitely important to laugh, without laughing we could not be happy…

  7. Nick ~ I find laughter in almost all I do. Mind you at times I need to stifle it.

    Steph ~ Fingers, toes and everything else crossed for Poppy as she starts the exams next wek.

    I have music playing in the background and move to the beat, in order to help keep the circulation going.

    Phil ~ My maternal grandmother taught us how to use laughter well and often.

  8. Thanks Rowan:-) Laughter offers all that is stated so well here — in dividends to the brain and to business results – and more! Your blog models it best.

    So why does it often get shortchanged?

    I believe it is because laughter can work against it’s own benefits.

    Surprisingly laughter at times works against the human brain. Your blog inspired me to write one of my own — show show how laughter works for or against mental progress:-) Thanks for the inspiration — and the many hilarious moments to spike a busy day! Great post!

  9. “Harassment of staff by management will continue until morale improves” – hahahahahaha that’s really really funny!
    I feel better already πŸ™‚

  10. Congrats on the blog post award, you definitely deserve it! BTW, I’m 99% sure the quote Damien put up was mine, unless someone else went home after reading the post too!

  11. He was a good find!

    I am trying to laugh right now. We are awaiting an electrician to repair a circuit in your house that has apparently gone bad, and blown out a lamp, a telephone and several outlets – plus I can’t use my washing machine until it’s repaired!!

  12. I knew it! I knew it! I knew it!…

    I’ve got great taste! πŸ˜€

    Congrats on the blog post award, GM

    Do we get another speech? πŸ˜‰

  13. As you know Grannymar, I read your blog at about 6am before getting ready for work and always leave with a smile on my dial!

  14. I started the day with a smile on my face… now it is a look of total shock

    Ellen ~ Welcome

    Charmed ~ Glad to be of help.

    Maz ~ If the post helped just one person than it was worthwhile.

    Poor Judy ~ I hope all will be repaired soon.

    Steph ~ Calm down girl or you will get dizzy πŸ˜†

    Baino ~ A smile on the dial is the best way to start any day.

Comments are closed.