May Blossoms

dressing up

While checking my Calendar, I realise a very special friend has a birthday today. In fact I have reason to celebrate a total of eight birthdays in the month of May and they are all Girls. I light a candle for each one in turn and think about them all through the day. I start on 4th and move on through 6th, 12th,15th, 17th, 21th, 23rd and 27th.

happy_birthday_cartoon

So gather round everyone and join me in the singing as we wish Many Happy Returns to:

Jen, Elly, Alice, Alice, Steph, Charlotte, Rose and Aline. May your day be special and remember that…

It is not how old you are, but how you are old. ~ Jules Renard

😉  I have given you a clue…  Now who can guess who has a special day today?  😉

16 thoughts on “May Blossoms

  1. HERE’S the birthday girl! 😀

    My birthday seems to be a very popular date. I share it with my twin brother, of course. My best friend from school days (now in Australia) has her birthday today too. We have some close friends (in the UK) whose son shares the same date so it’s always a busy time for swapping greetings.

    Every year I get a birthday call from a Norwegian friend as May 17th is the National Day of Norway – her reminder. I’ve shared my birthday with at least one general election and this year, today is also the day of our local parish fete.

    So no matter how hard I try, I’m never going to be allowed to forget my birthday!

    THANK YOU! Grannymar for a lovely reminder. I’m totally honoured and humbled to have found such a great friend in the last year. I still haven’t found out who the informer was! 🙄

  2. Birthdays should be wonderful days to cherish the past and make dreams come true in the future years… Every birthday, and I’ll be 62 this year I ask for at least 40 more. that is lucid birthdays. Let the body not betray us…

    Happy birthday…Steph and hope your whole week is wonderful..

    Dorothy from grammology
    remember to call gram
    http://www.grammology.com

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, STEPH!!!!!!! MANY HAPPY RETURNS….

    My only daughter (I also have 3 sons) was born on May 19 and she is a treasure!

    She is a costume designer and dresses the cast of all of the plays at local schools in her area in Chicago.. She is now broadening her talents by taking additional courses in costume design and construction at Columbia College.

    She has been offered jobs at semi professional theaters and had done some of that work but always returns to the young students (10 to 18) that she enjoys working with most..

    So, if you don’t mind I would love it if you would say Happy Birthday to my Carol,too!

  4. Happy Birthday to Carol, another May Blossom.

    Nancy ~ Carol sounds so talented and fortunate to be able to work at something she loves

  5. Hello again, Grannymar

    It’s lovely to come back to all these birthday greetings. How lucky am I! 😀

    Chrisb – I hope your granddaughter has had a lovely birthday. I wonder did she have a party today? It’s been beautifully hot and sunny here today.

    Dorothy – I agree, birthdays are to be cherished. While I’ve had a quiet day today having partied last night, I will still have cause to celebrate for at least another week.

    Nick – thank you! I was aware of the connection but I’m afraid that’s where the connection ends. Sure they are only young things!

    Nancy – HAPPY BIRTHDAY to Carol on Monday. I am also an only daughter with 3 brothers (now 2) and I have only one daughter (plus 1 son) myself. When my daughter was born, I always remember getting a card from a mother of 3 daughters which said “every mother deserves at least one daughter” and I have to say, it’s absolutely true! She’s MY treasure. My son has been working abroad since January but is returning home next week for a short holiday before heading in Carol’s direction, to Chicago for the summer. We’re really looking forward to seeing him again even if only for a short while.

    Grannymar – I have you sussed! I’ve found out your source of information! Now, I must ask Elly about…… 😉

    Thank you again for this lovely ‘online’ birthday surprise. It’s a birthday I’ll treasure for a long time 😀

    And I wish all the other May blossoms MANY HAPPY RETURNS!

  6. OH I’m late as usual. Happy birthday girls! I am hopeless at remembering birthdays other than those of my immediate family although I’m quite happy to forget mine! September and October seem to be BIG birthday months out here . . .something to do with NYI revelry perhaps?

  7. Baino you are never late to send someone good wishes.

    I was meant to be a May Blossom but like all my siblings we were in a Big hurry to see the outside world!

  8. Ahhhhh gee, thanks, Grannymar. And I thought no one remembered! I’ll be doing a post about my birthday later on during the coming week. I’m so glad to have you as a treasured blogging friend!

  9. Hey!
    Happy days Steph! And lots of them…..

    I missed this yesterday because we were sorting out the secret surprise party for Janet (my better half). She was 60 on May 4th ….. we got a bit worried about the tears! But she was okay!

    Taureans! Interesting people.

  10. @ Magpie – thanks!

    I was at a surprise 50th party on Friday night where the birthday girl came home to find her house jammed with family and friends (cars hidden on another road) and it was great fun. She gave a very funny impromptu speech along the lines that she’d never a believe a word her family said again! I don’t think I’d every recover from the shock. I hope Janet has recovered at this stage? Belated greetings to her.

    Grannymar – I knew by your determination that there must be a bit of Taurean in you. You must have been very ‘lickle’ having arrived in March?

    I was meant to be a Gemini but being a twin, the space ran out and I had to get out!

  11. Steph

    Seven months was normal gestation for mammy and all the survivors but one were around 5lbs! We travelled light 😆

Comments are closed.