Taxi-ing about

Roy from Irish Taxi has regaled us daily with tales, good and bad, from his hours behind the wheel. Now K8 the GR8 has joined the fray. I was beginning to think that I was missing something here and finally I discovered what it was.

You see, I thought that all Taxi drivers just sat around waiting for the likes of me to phone on a whim, and ask them to take me from A to B by the shortest route and in five minutes flat. It has worked well in the past, so why should I change my mind!

Well the other day I discovered what it was all about… is it any wonder that Roy is thinking of a career change?

So this is how they spend their time

I can just see Roy and K8 tripping around the M50; it surely would clear the traffic. Just think when ‘real dancers’ take to the dance floor everyone else fades into the woodwork…

CEROC is a modern partner dance that takes moves from many other popular dances such as Ballroom, Salsa, Latin, Hip hop, Jive and Tango. The classes are aimed at people with no dance experience and two left feet. There is no need to enrol on a course, simply turn up when you can with or without a partner.

Since the early 80’s CEROC has developed its own unique style which is easy to learn and great fun. Besides this, it’s a fantastic way to keep fit and a very sociable way to spend an evening. One of the other great things about CEROC is that there’s no need to come with a partner. Our teaching method means everyone changes partners during the class.

All CEROC nights starts with a class for beginners lasting for 45 minutes. Each dance is demonstrated and then the Taxi Dancers move among and partner the ‘learners’ while repeating the moves. Then there is a short freestyle session followed by the more challenging Intermediate class which lasts for 30 minutes, then the DJ takes command of the freestyle session. This is an hour and an half of pure uninterrupted dance where you can improve your dance style and soak up the atmosphere.

Now I wonder… I don’t need a partner… Do you think there might be a few T…….

Where did I put my dancing shoes.

20 thoughts on “Taxi-ing about

  1. Steph ~ somedays I feel like a great lump of ice cold rock 😆

    Darren ~ Thank you kind Sir! I might need a lesson or three first 😉

  2. Grannymar,

    We are so backward over here compared to you. I looked up CEROC and at this time there are NO venues for this type of dancing.

    One site said they were looking for space in Jacksonville, Florida to start this activity but they better be careful in Florida because everybody in the whole state is on Social Security..
    And Medicare won’t pay for dancing injuries. There is not one MOSH pit anywhere in this state for that very reason…..

    C’est Rock, GM…….

  3. Thought CEROC was a brand name? And you have to have their license to teach it.

    Darren…who was it said that dancing is the vertical expression of a horizontal desire? Probably GBS.

    Can’t see that in any solo step dancing, can you?

  4. Dorothy ~ not tonight I fear.

    Nancy ~ dancing is considered healthy exercise this side of the pond and encouraged by the Medics.

    Magpie you are correct they are moving in here from UK Mainland.

  5. I used to love dancing, although I was not very good at it. Dancer’s bodies are so gorgeous; I think I need to take up ballroom dancing and maybe I’d look better…
    LOL

  6. I know dancers who do warm uos and stretches before a Ceilidh! Just like runners and other sports people. The first dancing I did (apart from junior school) was ballroom at our mixed boarding school. The winter of 62-63…half of us went for a run while half did Ballroom dancing and thenwe swapped. Gorund too frozen for Rugby from January to March … I have to say I was never without a partner at the Saturday dances.

    Both my sons asked to learn Irish Dancing..they were steeped in traditional music (mostly English) from birth and before. Tristan used to dance in the womb!!!!!

    Cut hop under hop one two three! I remember it well! My wife used to be a clogger, Basic Lancashire step..Johnny had a fat cat!

    It’s been a dancing life!

  7. Roy ~ I am sure you are a tidy dancer.

    Judy ~ I am in the same boat. I love to dance but alas the brush is my only partner these days. 😆

    Paddy ~ if you mean Irish traditional dancing then I am out. I was never any good at that…. there is a post in there somewhere.

    Magpie ~ Do you dance for your supper 😉

  8. Welcome Eclectipundit.

    That meme passed this way on 15th February. If I was not so busy I’d have another go, las I must pass this round.

  9. Welcome to the dark haired beauty from Cerocni. I remember talking to you a year ago when you gave that demonstration in Carrickfergus.

    Alas, my hip complains when I walk these days so dancing will have to wait for the moment.

  10. I hear that excuse all the time!

    Yes i remember having a natter at the time, it is funny though to see yourself appear randomly on someone elses page!

  11. I am getting used to popping up randomly all over the place these days.

    The hip bit is true. Hoping to have it replaced soon… after that you might see me for some gentle exercise.

Comments are closed.