Moving and Shaking

I know several people with itchy feet syndrome.

It seems to be more evident as spring raises its sleepy head from the grey blanket of winter. The new life we see around us like the first snowdrop or crocus pushing its way through frozen ground or daffodils fluttering in the breeze make us hanker for new growth in our lives. The new growth might manifest itself in a change of routine, a new hobby, a career move or a new relationship.

None of these will happen unless we are open and willing to accept change. Sometimes the idea of change is difficult to accept. We are changing every day without realising it. We are a day older and the happenings of the previous day have left a mark, even if we are unable to see it.

Firstly we must be open to the change and prepare for it. If you are going to a party, and know your heart’s desire will be there, what do you do? Have a shower, wash the hair, wear clean pressed clothes etc. In other words = Prepare

If you are going to the Gym, well you need the new shorts & top and of course the right trainers = Prepare

If you are going to an Art class, well you need to buy a sketch pad and pencils or paints and brushes = Prepare

What about the career move? = Prepare

How do I suggest you do that? Go read an excellent blog post from one of my Toyboys; Rowan Manahan puts it so much better than I ever could. I would go as far as saying keep a copy of the post close to you and read it on a regular basis. It applies not only to job hunting but to life itself:

Being prepared – getting a foot in the door and not in your mouth

Now when you find your truelove and make your millions, don’t forget to come back and tell Grannymar.

14 thoughts on “Moving and Shaking

  1. Thanks for the link…I’m posting it to Alyster, the youngest, who at 23 is having a hard time finding a worthwhile job.
    D

  2. Dear Plaything,
    see what happens when you sit on a couch with me! πŸ˜‰

    In case there are any worried wives out there, All men are my Toyboys, age has nothing to do with it!

  3. Magpie I hope Alyster will find the link of help and the search for work a short one.

  4. GM – I’m always movin’ and shakin’ but I don’t seem to get very far!

    Excellent tips from Rowan – thanks for pointing me in his direction. Now I can really believe that “you’re never too old to impress”!

    I like your line about being ‘open and willing to accept change’. I often find myself subconsciously resisting change so I’m grateful for your reminder.

    I’m sure I’ve told you before about what my future MIL said to me (with a twinkle in her eye) the first time I stayed the night with my (then) boyfriend…

    “I hope you’ve come WELL-PREPARED!” πŸ˜‰

  5. Steph ~ there is something in that post for all of us. Change is all around us.
    There are only two things we can be sure of in life; nothing stays the same and that we will all die.
    Don’t want the last part yet, still have some chasing to do! πŸ˜†

    Plaything @ are you jealous?

  6. Jealous is such an inadequate word – more of a green mist descending over my eyes. Trifling with my affections? This is somewhere between playing blancmange and bread and butter pudding with my poor heart. πŸ™‚

  7. Plaything, the green mist is the lingering effects of Paddy’s Day!

    Blancmange and bread and butter pudding, Ugh! Anything milky makes me nauseous. I must learn not to upset your lovesick heart!

  8. Paddy, in short I have no idea of how many there are, but my mother always said there is safety in numbers. πŸ˜€
    Every man I meet or chat to is a potential Toyboy. Every woman likes to be told she is beautiful, and I have not yet met a man who didn’t like to be called my toyboy!

  9. You are right grannymar RM wrote an excellent post. I wish I’d had that when I was still in the workplace as I’ve fluffed a couple of important job interviews~ now I guess I have other things to prepare for!!

  10. No matter how much I resist change, it’s forces itself upon me . . .makes me constantly adaptable more out of necessity than willingness. Mind you constant change has put me in a state of constant preparedness . . come what may! I’m ready for you!

  11. Chris ~ we all needed a message like Rowan’s instead of focusing on the tweed costume with hat and gloves!! We were not supposed to remove the gloves – a sign we were making our own of the place. Is it any wonder I have such a large chip on my shoulder.

    Baino ~ I would be happier not having to prefix all arrangements with β€˜if’.

Comments are closed.