Thursday Special ~ Do we Listen

These are all out of the mouth of Babes Doctors

A man comes into the ER and yells, “My wife’s going to have her baby in the taxi!” I grabbed my stuff, rushed out to the taxi, lifted the lady’s dress, and began to take off her underwear. Suddenly I noticed that there were several cabs —and I was in the wrong one.

~+~+~+~

At the beginning of my shift I placed a stethoscope on an elderly and slightly deaf female patient’s anterior chest wall. “Big breaths,” I instructed. “Yes, they used to be,” replied the patient.

~+~+~

One day I had to be the bearer of bad news when I told a wife that her husband had died of a massive myocardial infarct. Not more than five minutes later, I heard her reporting to the rest of the family that he had died of a “massive internal fart.”

8 thoughts on “Thursday Special ~ Do we Listen

  1. Lovely gems! Grannymar

    I love the way the elderly (like the very young) say exactly what they like/think to doctors. It must raise many a smile in an otherwise stressful day.

    I tend to say what I think to docs as well and generally I find I earn respect for it. However, the more arrogant ones tend to see it as a challenge and some definitely don’t like to hear what I have to say! πŸ˜‰

  2. Steph ~ I have spent some time ‘saying’ my piece to my GP this am.

    Primal ~ in short NO! Preparing a post now but am off to do my good deed it will be up later.

  3. Well, Grannymar, I have a not too bright friend whose OB/GYN guy told her she had a deficiency in her passage and if she ever had a baby it would be a miracle.

    She tearfully went around telling everyone,”The doctor says I have a fish in my passage and if I ever have a baby it will be a mackeral.”

  4. The grim reaper knocked at the door of an an elderly woman “I am death!” he declared . . .”Never mind sonny . .” she retorts, “I’ll speak louder!”

Comments are closed.