Things People say…

or print.

This little beauty appeared in the Business section of the Irish Independent on Thursday 6th March.

weird-wide-web

I may not have a degree in engineering or technology, but I try to use the few grey cells that I have. Growing up with red hair and freckles really toughens you for life and as my grandmother taught me many moons ago:

‘Sticks and stones may break my bones, but names can never hurt me!

I won’t let it bother me, instead I will smile and remember a conversation the previous day.

On my journeys between Co Antrim and Dublin I always have a stop to stretch my legs and drink a coffee. Since the road now bypasses Carrickdale I make my stop at The OUTLET Banbridge. While there I made a friend for life! Christine Watson, Marketing Manager for the Centre and I were talking about their web-site. I suggested that she should think of starting a blog to interact and connect with customers and pointed her in the direction of beaut.ie. She was very impressed with their site and Bookmarked it right then and there.

Signing me up for their VIP Club, she needed some info, you know the usual stuff, name, email, etc. Then she asked what age bracket she would put me in, or rather she said ( Now sit up and LISTEN, this is important!!) “45-49 age group, would that be right?” I tried not to splutter and asked Christine to repeat the question, she did!

“45-49 age group, would that be right?” asked Christine.

This time I laughed heartily. “I’m sorry, are you younger than that?” asked a worried Christine.

“No, I am not younger than that” I laughed! “I will be 61 next Monday!”

The smile has not left my face since!

10 thoughts on “Things People say…

  1. Grannymar VIP…it suits you ๐Ÿ˜€

    Just as well you didn’t meet her on your way south… your orange and black colour scheme might have frightened her off! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Morning Steph,

    On the way south I had my head down and sat in a corner with my coffee, hoping not to meet anyone who knew me! I am slowly paling (not peeling) back to normal as the rain beats on the windows and the wind howls all around!

    I wish I was at Creative Camp!

  3. But you are at Creative Camp, Grannymar

    Grannymar Stables is a hive of creativity with Toyboys queueing up to join in the fun! You even have your own podcast facility.

    And you get a standing ovation from me ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Welcome Caoimhin, and with comments like that yoiu are welcome anytime! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Haha see, thats what a cold climate and all that moisture does for the complexion! Unlike us sun hardened wrinklies in the Antipodes! Hope your tan is fading naturally and not peeling off like sun hardened paint!

  6. Baino I am fading to a normal paleness at last! I will not be offering Vodka to guests in the future.

Comments are closed.