Good news, good news, bring me good news.

We all need good news these days.

Today I had Mail, snail mail and email. One item each and neither brought a smile!

bird_mail_animated

The snail mail came in a brown envelope, you know the type, A5 size with a window to show my name and address. Turning it over the return address was the one that gives us all the shivers: HM Revenue & Customs.

Worry not it was my annual PAYE Coding Notice. It gave my new tax code payable from 6th April for 2008 -2009. I devoured the printed word on the letter; well you need something to concentrate on while masticating on muesli and it reminded me that there are two tax bands:

  • 20% on £34600
  • 40% on anything over £34600

The first point should read 20% on income up to £34600.

In plain English that means that for my half-crown in taxable income I pay the same rate as Joe Bloggs who earns £34,599.99! Simple yes, but is it fair?

Now for item no 2 my email. This little beauty arrived:

Security Center <service@yahoo.com>

to

Date Sat, Feb 23, 2008 at 8:20 AM

Subject Unauthorized Activity

Dear valued PayPal member,
It has come to our attention that your PayPal account information needs to be updated as part of our continuing commitment to protect your account and to reduce the instance of fraud on our website. If you could please take 5-10 minutes out of your online experience and update your personal records you will not run into any future problems with the online service.
However, failure to update your records will result in account suspension. Please update your records on or before February 24, 2008.
Once you have updated your account records, your PayPal session will not be interrupted and will continue as normal.
To update your PayPal records click on the following link:
http://XXXX.XXXX.XXXXXXX/icons/cgi/ (altered by moi!)
Thank You.
PayPal Update Team
Accounts Management As outlined in our User Agreement, PayPal will periodically send you information about site changes and enhancements.

Very kind, I hear you say of PayPal to remind me, but the problem is I DO NOT Have a PayPal account. I never had a PayPal account.

I seldom shop online, call me old fashioned, but I like the feel of the item in my hand before I part with my money.

The last time I purchased anything over the internet was my Moo Cards last September. They had an option to pay by Credit Card or by PayPal. Not having an account I used my Credit Card.

This email was not the first purporting to come from PayPal. I received one back in November.

cute fella sticking out tongue

For those of you who use this method of payment, take note and take care.

18 thoughts on “Good news, good news, bring me good news.

  1. I had one of those tax notices and I wish I hadn’t because they are intending to take more tax from me come April when I get a minuscule rise in pension. It will be interesting to see if I actually gain or loose~ I suspect it will be the latter!

  2. Chris we never win, they might give us a few pounds in one hand but then take plenty back with the other. Food and fuel prices have gone through the roof. The only item I notice going down in price is coffee.

  3. Say, Enda, I wish you would forget the Nigerian who is inheriting 82 Million because I sent him a wire transfer to show my sincerity.

    He offered to share the money with me first, so I would appreciate it if you would BACK OFF!!!!!

    Just so you don’t feel left out,I have a bridge I’d like to sell you in London……

  4. Today I had NO mail, NADDA…feel a little unloved now! Even a Nigerian offering to share his fortunes is not something I can brag about…hmmm. But I really wanted to congratulate you on your short list AGAIN, bit late but I have been away and then madly catching up with life and I see much happened whle the cat was…in another country!!!…and to say hello.

  5. Nancy ~ which bridge are you selling?

    Natalie ~ Welcome and thank you for the kind words. Sometimes no mail is good mail.

  6. “We all need good news these days”

    I had some good news arrive in a little brown envelope this week…

    From BreastCheck – all clear! 😀

    And…Ireland won their 6-nations rugby match against Scotland today

    And…I’ve fixed my email address 😉

  7. Tell me more about the moo cards, I’ve noticed a blog nearby that promotes their creation by artistic types but they all seem to be just cigarette cards with old photos stuck to them – am I missing something ?

  8. Steph ~ Saturday was a good day so! Have you any voice left? 😉

    Gary ~ they are mini business cards available online. You design your own with picture on front and usual info on the back – no more than 5 lines. If I can make then then anyone can.

    They do cards and holders etc. http://www.moo.com/

  9. These scams even come from the banks now GM, and try and look authentic with the logos, etc. Of course they are only out to get the passwords and stuff their – Nigerian? -pockets.
    And so many fools fall for it. I saw a documentary on them, very intelligent people too.
    XO
    WWW

  10. WWW the scams are everywhere. I am very careful. I posted this example to perhaps help others.

  11. It’s surprising how many people fall for online fraud though. Even the accountant at work transferred $9000 to a bogus bank site because she didn’t realise it was a scam. I’m continually warning clients not to give away their account details, many are elderley and just don’t understand that a PIN is top secret!

    Sorry about the tax thing, we have four tax tiers here at $6,000 – $25,000 taxed at 15cents per dollar, $25,001 – $75,000 taxed at 30 cents per dollar, $75,001-$150,000 taxed at 40 cents per dollar (I’m in the lower end of this one) and above $150,000 taxed at 45 cents. Ah well, I look at it as my contribution to social welfare and politicians junkets.

  12. ‘It’s surprising how many people fall for online fraud’

    Baino that is the very reason I wrote this post. The other half was only a moan.

  13. Gary, glad to oblige. I had a look down your Blogroll and found that site the other day. Interesting!

Comments are closed.