I’m worried!

Last night I spoke to my one and only offspring. Did you know I had an offspring? Elly is not a bad little girl really. The fact that she is now taller than me, is by the way. I suppose I am now on the way down.

Well we had a good mother/ daughter chat. Sorry I am not going to tell you what we bitched talked about. We have our secrets!

She did tell me she got a letter yesterday. Now getting the odd letter is not unusual for me. My Elly however, lives in the modern world. The world of ether – no I don’t mean a funny substance, I mean the world of the airwaves, I mean the internet thingy stuff! Letters are a little ‘olde-worldly’ to her! The bills come in letters, but cute egg that she is; they all come addressed to George! I wonder at times how he got mixed up with her.

Well back to the letter. It came from the wee North. Yes, this part of the world where I live. It had a Royal Mail post mark (that’s twice in two days they got a mention here, but I am still better value)! The letter was addressed to herself and George.

St James’s Street tonight! Will you pick me up off the floor! It was a wedding invitation acceptance. “What is going on here”? You might ask. No wonder they have not come to see me so far this year. Is there something I am missing here? I thought that they were already well and truly married. I made the outfit. I gave her away. I made the speech. They must be married!

It was a wedding acceptance for the wedding that happened on 23 June 2007. Now I would like to know where the letter was all this time. Did it arrive in your post box? Did you have it sitting behind the clock on the mantelpiece?

Will we have to hold the wedding all over again?

Will I need a new hat?

Help!

8 thoughts on “I’m worried!

  1. Grannymar – don’t be worried! 😉

    This sounds like a great excuse to put your party shoes on. Throw one of your now famous recipes in the oven and invite George and Elly and whoever it was whose acceptance went astray, to come and help you re-live the fun of that day.

    Does make you wonder though what else may be lurking in the post?

  2. A Party! Steph that sounds like a great idea. I might need an assistant cook, will you be available?

    Now where did I hide those shoes…..

  3. Haha! No wonder Elly’s ‘connected’. Snail mail . . exactly that! I got a letter in the post too . . .also three weeks late but unfortunately it’s a fine for not paying a toll when dropping ClareBear at the airport *sniff* I’d rather a wedding acceptance, at least you get a present!

  4. Grannymar,

    We have the same mail problems here. My sister lives in New York City and has had the same address for more than 30 years.

    I sent her a card on December 27 for her birthday on December 31.

    Two days ago( February 11) I received the letter back with all sorts of stampings and stickers attached. One said “Undeliverable at this address” and the other sticker was forwarding the mail back to me .

    I took the “undeliverable” card and put it in another envelope and remailed it back to the very same address in NY. It was delivered to my sister today (February 13).

    You never know where mail goes once it leaves your hands.

  5. WWW – the even funnier bit is that the RSVP came from an aunt and uncle of George’s – the uncle who officiated at out wedding – we never even noticed that the RSVP was missing because we had talked to them and confirmed all the details on the phone as we were planning the service!

    We’ve kept the card and will let them know it was received – albeit late!

  6. Nancy I am glad we are not the only ones to have difficulty with the post.

    WWW As I write, your question is answered for me. ‘Admin’ is My Elly’s lurking name!

Comments are closed.