My pocket started to vibrate….

Now listen, we will have none of that thank you very much! It was the carry everywhere for emergencies mobile phone.

irishblogawards1.jpg

Are you near the computer Mum? Said the excited voice at the other end of the line.

Now what is she looking for? There is only one person who calls me mum, and that is when she is looking for something. I won’t repeat the things she calls me at other times. No, we will draw a veil over those… Has my Elly no work to do instead of disturbing me when I am gardening pulling weeds to try and find my garden.

“The shortlists are out and you made it twice”, says she.

“The shortlists for weeds” says I. “Big, bad and in my garden”, that’s the long and short of it, I’m thinking.

No Mammy! (Ooooh,we’re getting respectful now) the shortlists for the Irish Blog Awards! You are through for Best Blog (one of 27) and for Best personal Blog (one of 14).

‘…………………………’ that’s the silence at my end.

Are you still there mum? (Respect gone already) Are you still there?

“Yes, I’m still here! I swallowed my tongue”. Says I.

I am Gob-smacked to say the least. And the people I voted for are on the same shortlists!! So I’ll take my five minutes glory and then get on with shouting for the real talent up there on the list.

So to King Damien who organises and puts so much work into the event, the Sponsors, he cajoles, torments or bribes to produce the goodies, the judges who are now cross-eyed from reading and judgely huddling, I say a great big thank you.

To all those who reached the shortlists, I say congratulations and enjoy the excitement. May the best man/woman win!

To those whose names did not make it this time I say, as some wise man said to me one day when I lost out at an interview many years ago.

“You are not a failure! You just didn’t make the cut this time!”

PS It is interesting to see we have a father/daughter and a mother/son combination this year!

10 thoughts on “My pocket started to vibrate….

  1. Hails ~ The best tribute you can pay those who nominated you, is to keep blogging! Enjoy the excitement.

    WWW ~ Thank you and you are so right. It IS the joy of the journey and those you meet along the road that make it worthwhile!

  2. Thank you Nancy. We still have another round of judging and the standard is very high. Getting this far is a bonus for me and so long as I have people like you who visit everyday and comment that is enough for me.

  3. Deborah, Win or lose the next round, I look forward to meeting all my blog friends (and Toyboys) in Dublin on 1st March

  4. Well done! again, Grannymar *sigh*

    I came home to a very similar excited message!

    As regards “PS It is interesting to see we have a father/daughter and a mother/son combination this year!”

    At least each family member is in a different category as otherwise it could lead to some interesting politics! 😀

Comments are closed.