Noses and Nails

You learn something everyday and last night I discovered that sneezing on different days of the week was once believed to have a bearing on your future.

This little saying is a new one to me:

Sneeze on a Monday, you sneeze for danger;

Sneeze on a Tuesday, you kiss a stranger;

Sneeze on a Wednesday, you sneeze for a letter;

Sneeze on a Thursday, for something better;

Sneeze on a Friday, you sneeze for sorrow;

Sneeze on a Saturday, your sweetheart tomorrow;

Sneeze on a Sunday, your safety seek,

The Devil will have you the whole of the week.

~^~^~^~^~

People were supposed to cut their nails on a Monday in preference to any other day of the week. Sunday was the least propitious day to do it, because that was the day when the Devil cut his nails.

This old rhyme offers advice:

Cut nails on Monday, cut them for health

Cut them on Tuesday, cut them for wealth

Cut them on Wednesday, cut them for news

Cut them on Thursday, a pair of new shoes

Cut them on Friday, cut them for sorrow

Cut them on Saturday, see your true love tomorrow

But cut them on Sunday, your safety seek

For Old Nick’ll have you, the rest of the week.

10 thoughts on “Noses and Nails

  1. Not much hope for people with recurrent sinus problems then 😦

    But I’m off to cut my nails right now!

    btw It looks like the Devil stole your Sunday? (2nd rhyme)

  2. Steph ~ sorry about the sinus and thanks for checking my typos.

    I have restored Sunday 😉

  3. Old Mother Goose had something to say,too….

    Monday’s child is fair of face,
    Tuesday’s child is full of grace,
    Wednesday’s child is full of woe,
    Thursday’s child has far to go.
    Friday’s child is loving and giving,
    Saturday’s child works hard for a living.
    But the child born on the Sabbath Day,
    Is fair and wise and good and gay…..

    I wouldn’t take that last word too literally. I don’t think gay had the same connotation in Mother Goose’s time…

  4. Very true Nancy the word gay like so many others means something completly different than it did when I was young..

    Elly is a Saturday child and does work hard for her living, while I like my mother was a Monday girl.

  5. Baino ~ I couldn’t tell you what day I cut my nails. I do it when they need it.

    Dorothy ~ It is good to get all the problems over early in the week so it will be plain sailing on Friday. Will keep my fingers crossed for you.

  6. Dorothy,

    Good luck with your surgery on Friday.We will be thinking of you and hoping it all turns out well.

Comments are closed.