New year’s Resolutions for 2008

  • Get out from under the bird of darkness hovering round my head for the last month or two.
  • Realise that lost time can never be found.
  • Spend more time outdoors.
  • Enjoy the simple things.
  • Feel pride bursting through my chest when Elly, George and my friends do well and are happy, and tell them that I love them, at every opportunity.
  • Laugh often, long and loud. Laugh until I gasp for breath. Spend lots and lots of time with friends who make me laugh.
  • Learn something new – Never let the brain get idle (You don’t lick knowledge off a stone A quotation from Tom Murphy’s Grandmother.). “An idle mind is the devil’s workshop.” And the devil’s name is Alzheimer’s!
  • Try everything twice. Now where are the Toy boys?

And finally my wish for you in 2008 is:

May peace break into your house and may the thieves come to steal your debts.
May the pockets of your jeans become a magnet of €100 notes.
May love stick to your face like Vaseline and may laughter assault your lips!
May happiness slap you across the face and may your tears be those of joy.
May the problems you had, forget your home address!

In simple words….

May 2008 be the best year of your life, try not to screw it up!!!

11 thoughts on “New year’s Resolutions for 2008

  1. With love, laughter, happiness and tears of joy stuck to my face, may I wish you, Grannymar, a very Happy New Year!

    And may all of your wishes, aims, hopes and dreams come true in 2008, and may you still have enough time left over to continue your inspirational blog 😀

  2. Grannymar,

    I think the bird of darkness owes part of its strength to to the way our Irish winters have developed. I know a woman who lived in Canada for thirty years who complains about the darkness here. It isn’t the short days that are the problem, it is the constant greyness, she was used to the brilliant snow-reflected sunshine of Ontario. We get much more overcast weather than in the past – how many sharp, clear winter nights have we had in the past couple of months?

  3. Steph, Thank you.
    Ian,
    I agree with you about the greyness. When the day becomes (did I really say becomes?) monochrome I start to shiver so I close up the curtains and switch on plenty of bright lights. This year seems to have been grey constantly for months.

  4. I love grey days, I’ve loved that today has been misty all day long – on misty days its fine to go out for a walk down a country lane and be focused on just exactly what you can see rather than the rest of the view that you can’t see anymore.

    See – there’s a positive in everything 🙂

    Have a great 2008 …

  5. Gary, if I could walk at a speed to keep warm that would be fine. I am a very positive person, my glass is half full…. Well it was a few minutes ago.

    Which of you chairs emptied that glass?!!! 😉

  6. You know there is such a phenomenon as The Winter Blues “Seasonal Defective Disorder” . . caused largely by the greyness and chill of winter or in our case, persistent rain. It’s thought to be caused by lowered levels of seratonin whose levels rise on sunny days. You’re doing the right thing putting the lights on and step outside when the bleakness lifts! Cheers again . . .

  7. You are so much fun. I just love your resolutions and wishes for 2008~ can’t wait!

    Wishing you much happiness for the coming year.

  8. Baino in this end of the world they call it SAD. I do not suffer from SAD, I am just a sad person! 😆

    2007 was a very emotional year on many levels and I think I let it get on top of me a little. I should have saved that place for a Toyboy 😉

    Yesterday and today I threw open every window in the house to clear out the gloom. Today there is some bright object out there in the sky and with only 7°C I have closed the windows and put the heat back on. Now for some exercise – find a funny blog to read.

  9. Grannymar – is that you I can hear laughing from here?

    “Laugh often, long and loud. Laugh until I gasp for breath”.

    Laughter may be the best medicine and all that, but please don’t overdo it! 😉

Comments are closed.