I have a headache in my tummy!

My little friend Cameron came to see me with Louise his mammy the other day. He was not in his usual bouncy good form. On asking how he was he told me “I have a headache in my tummy!”

Cameron’s mammy was rather hassled because she had shopping to do and the young man was not up to trekking about with her. I offered to look after him, now please, I like my toyboys older than four years of age! Louise was glad of the opportunity to do the shopping unencumbered with a child that was not feeling well.

Once on our own I made warm drinks for the two of us and Cameron and I sat on the sofa with a throw over our legs and we read stories to each other. By the time Louise returned Cameron was sleeping peacefully. Louise was bubbling about her successful forage in the shops and had achieved so much more than if she had Cameron with her. We had coffee and the little treats that Louise had brought back for me. Just as we finished, Cameron woke and bounced about full of the joys of spring.

At this time of year there are plenty of bugs, colds and Flu about. I cannot promise to cure you as easily as I did Cameron but the following might help:

Gut Soother

2 pears 2 carrots

1/2 pineapple 1/2 inch (1 cm) ginger root

The blend of these three along with the ginger not only make a great taste, but they’re good for the digestive tract too.

Cold Cure

1 large mug 3 spoons of honey

3 thin slices of root ginger 2 lemon slices

1 hefty shot of whiskey 12 cloves

Pinch of Cinnamon

Stud the lemon slices with cloves put in mug with the remaining ingredients. Pour boiling water over the lot.

Drink – enjoy ā€“ Sleep like a baby

7 thoughts on “I have a headache in my tummy!

  1. The gut soother sounds like a great hangover cure!
    I’ve a headache in my sphenoidal sinus today which is nothing a hot toddy won’t fix. Thanks mom!

  2. Thanks Grannymar, but I think I prefer coffee šŸ˜‰

    K8 – I find a really hot bath works wonders for a bad sinus headache. After that, distraction is the only thing for it – try anything that takes your fancy šŸ˜‰

  3. I think it’s lovely that you can entertain a small child without television. My neice and nephew (7 and 9) would find the thought of a storytelling marathon absolutely horrendous. When I babysit, they come armed with DVD’s which I promptly confiscate before taking them for a long walk to feed the ducks. They start out reluctantly but it ends up well!

  4. Steph, sorry not to take up your offer. I gound someone else to pester yesterday! šŸ˜‰

    Baino, I had good practice of entertaining without TV. When Elly was small I got away with the idea that TV programmes were only on on wet days. Sunshine was for playing outside. Ask Elly, now she say she was deprived” šŸ˜›

  5. Pingback: Grannymar » Food Monday ~ Hot Toddy (Whiskey)

Comments are closed.