Dish the Dirt

Where do you eat breakfast, snacks, and lunch?

Now be honest how often do you eat at your computer terminals.

AOL collected the dust, dirt and organic debris accumulating beneath the keys of a keyboard in a typical London office for a month. They discovered that computer keyboards are accumulating up to two grams of muck every month.

Personal grooming done at the terminal also contributes to the buildup of gunge, so stop picking at that spot or your nose and leave your hair alone!

Now look at what they found:

Corn Flakes (15%)

Boiled sweet (15%)

Noodles (7%)

Vegetable pieces (4%)

Leaf (1%)

Pencil shavings (1%)

Staple (1%)

Finger nail (<1%)

Tape/plastic (<1%)

Insect (<1%)

Foil (<1%)

Hair (<1%)
Various particles resembling cereal grains, biscuit crumbs, bread crumbs, pastry flakes and chocolate crumbs (56%)

Do people still use pencils?

Update

Perhaps one of these might fit in on a list or in a stocking!

flexible-keyboard.jpg

This amazing flexible keyboard is manufactured in durable silicone enabling it to be rolled up. The keyboard has soft and comfortable keys that respond exceptionally quick to finger strokes and its waterproof, dust proof and coffee proof making it an ideal keyboard extreme locations.
I found it on USBNow.co.uk

5 thoughts on “Dish the Dirt

  1. Oh, Yuk! Grannymar

    I don’t eat in front of the computer (much!) but I do admit to sipping hot drinks (inc.GD’s favourite Cully & Sully soup) while I type with one finger! 😦

    Ever since you told us what was found on the bottom of handbags, I’ve kept my bag firmly on the floor.

    Thanks for keeping me in order!

  2. I must be a rarety, I don’t eat at my keyboard (well not at home, perhaps a sandwich during lunch at work) DrummerBoy is a noodle fiend but once spilled beer on the ‘j’ key and I had to clean the lot with a lipstick brush and WD 40! Aw but don’t get me going on handbags, I have no idea what’s in mine!

  3. Rhea some folk come to the keyboard with sticky fingers or dirty hands. I have watched it at work over the years.

Comments are closed.