All Hot and Cold

From my kitchen window I can see for twenty miles. Well on Wednesday last it was more like two miles. The clouds were low and the mist was down so far that I lost the view of the Windmills, the Colin, the Ballyboley Hills and indeed anything beyond the town. There are days when I get to see the end of the garden and that is all. Now on the other hand there are mornings that are bright clear and crisp and you feel that you can see forever. Those are the mornings I most enjoy, especially if it is a Sunday. On Sundays the world seems to stop, no traffic, and there is not a sound outside. I love being outside early on those mornings.

In early autumn I love to wake and find a ribbon of mist over the river, yet see the hills beyond it and in the foreground shrubs and bushes with layers of cobwebs twinkling in the early sunshine.

In winter we sometimes have frost that is so heavy, you would think it was a fall of snow. This frost can last for days on end. We live below the snowline so any falls of snow never last very long. The snow we get is not of the greeting card variety it is usually wet snow that quickly changes to slush.

Last year we had a very mild winter, despite the forecast of doom telling us otherwise. We had high summer in March and April that was followed by biblical rain – forty days and forty nights! In fact I think the Good Lord was going for the Guinness Book of Records this year with all the rain we had in Ireland and the UK.

In the last few years we have seen major climatic extremes all over the world. Now is it that with modern technology we are more aware of what is happening as it happens, or is it Global Warming as the powers that be want us to believe, or is it the Good Lord in his dotage (well He is about 2000 years old) playing games with us? After all he made the world, so he can change it whatever way he likes!

Yesterday morning I was checking out The Other side of Sixty and her post lead me to Icecap where I read a most interesting article.

I think you will find it a very interesting post on Global Warming!

12 thoughts on “All Hot and Cold

  1. Nice one Grannymar! You had me worried there for a moment ‘cos I thought “All hot and cold” meant you had the shivers!

    “The early bird catches the worm” but sometimes “snails too”…

    I too love early mornings but only when the weather is fine. One summer morning I was out in the garden at about 5am listening to the birdsong while I enjoyed a cup of tea. I began to hear funny cracking sounds and thought it must be the birds cracking snail shells. Gradually I realised that the noise was coming from snails landing on our patio. Our neighbour who leaves early for work, was busily chucking the snails over the wall to get rid of them! I giggled as I chucked a few back and that quickly put a stop to that practice!

    I can tell you that our high summer actually began in the first few days of April as that was when I arrived home from the UK following my surgery and that sunshine was the best get well present ever!

  2. Thankfully no shivers Steph.

    Today I could see a rainbow. Now there is dark cloud at the back, while a watery sun shines in the living room window at me while I type.

  3. You definitely have some interesting weather there Grannymar. I’m not sure what to attribute the oddities we all are experiencing weather-wise. Global warming? Very possibly. I know that it has been pretty frightening at times. I don’t even want to think of it getting worse.

  4. I’m laughing about steph’s snail comment. We throw the snails over the wall into the road. I believe in giving them a fighting chance but I often wonder if anyone might be walking down the pavement and get hit by one!

  5. You paint a really accurate picture!! I could almost smell the coal smoke there for a bit. Apparently crap weather and beautiful weather occur in roughly eight year cycles, so if you can hang on for another seven years, you might be strutting your stuff on the sunkissed beaches yet! (Don’t forget to wax)

  6. Talking of unusual weather… yesterday I was crossing a road heavily laden down with shopping bags when a huge gust of wind hit. I had to brace myself against it. To my horror, on the opposite side of the road I saw a frail little lady (aged at least 80) being lifted off her feet by the wind and deposited onto the road. Luckily she was only badly shaken up and was able to continue on foot. I couldn’t believe what I’d seen!

    I got home to hear on the news that London and Rotterdam had closed their tidal barrage mechanisms in anticipation of freak weather and tidal conditions. They also mentioned that Ireland had been ‘swiped’ by the same conditions earlier in the day. That poor little lady was certainly swiped!

  7. Steph, I know what that frail old lady feels like. Being very slight I have often been stopped in my tracks by the wind.

  8. In this last seven days we have had warm humid days, high winds, a howling gale last night and now its bloody freezing cold even though its not yet touched zero degrees !

    I love early mornings though, mornings when I am the only one awake in the house and I can sit out the back with a cup of coffee and be quiet, nothing quite like a coffee and peace.

Comments are closed.