Thursday Special #3

God made dogs and cats

And God said, I will create a companion for you that will be with you and who will be a reflection of my love for you, so that you will love me even when you cannot see me. Regardless of how selfish or childish or unlovable you may be, this new companion will accept you as you are and will love you as I do, in spite of yourselves.”

And God created a new animal to be a companion for Adam and Eve. And it was a good animal. And God was pleased.

And the new animal was pleased to be with Adam and Eve and he wagged his tail.

And Adam said, “Lord, I have already named all the animals in the Kingdom and I cannot think of a name for this new animal.”

And God said, “I have created this new animal to be a reflection of my love for you, his name will be a reflection of my own name, and you will call him DOG.”

And Dog lived with Adam and Eve and was a companion to them and loved them.

And they were comforted.

And God was pleased.

And Dog was content and wagged his tail.

After a while, it came to pass that an angel came to the Lord and said, “Lord, Adam and Eve have become filled with pride. They strut and preen like peacocks and they believe they are worthy of adoration. Dog has indeed taught them that they are loved, but perhaps too well.”

And God said, I will create for them a companion who will be with them and who will see them as they are. The companion will remind them of their limitations, so they will know that they are not always worthy of adoration.”

And God created CAT to be a companion to Adam and Eve.

And Cat would not obey them. And when Adam and Eve gazed into Cat’s eyes, they were reminded that they were not the supreme beings.

And Adam and Eve learned humility. And they were greatly improved.

And God was pleased
.

And Dog was happy.

And Cat didn’t give a shit one way or the other.

10 thoughts on “Thursday Special #3

  1. So true!!! I remember painting my sitting room and both the cat and the dog sat watching me for a while. I imagined the dog thinking ‘Woah, what a genius. I really love this woman, she’s great at thinking of ways of entertaining me.” Whearas the cat was thinking “No no, she’s doing that all wrong. Making a total pigs ear of it. And what was she thinking when she was choosing that colour? Ugh. Maybe if I suck up to her she’ll feed me. It’s about all she’s good for.”

  2. Excellent. I’d be lost with out the creature attached to a yellow waggy tail. Dogs fill a void that people can’t – good for your heart too apparently. I love the way cats gravitate towards the person who’s either allergic or simply can’t stand them. Gotta appreciate that steadfast arrogance. (Mind you I didn’t replace my 16 year old Burmese because I couldn’t risk a bird eater so I haven’t suffered the recriminations of an arrogant puss for some time)

  3. So far Grannymar Gables is an animal free zone. My sister makes up for me and her cats always make a bee line for me when I call. They insist on jumping on me and digging in their claws. Ugh! For me cats are like snow, the only place for them is on a greeting card.

  4. I am allergic to cats, and don’t much like them, in any case. But, I love dogs, and there are some that don’t make me sneeze.

  5. Grannymar,

    You can say any foolish thing to a dog and the dog will give you a look that says,

    “My God, you’re right! I never would have thought of that.”

  6. No GM, but I consider my niece’s dog, Ziggy, to be mine. I just love him. My niece adopted him from a shelter about 9 years ago and he is a very long haired mixed breed. She bought a farm and the property came with 4 barn cats who are there to keep the rodents down.

    When they first moved in my nephew built a great dog house for Ziggy. Up off the ground and in Winter they put in blankets and put newspaper and hay underneath. Well, the kitties gave Ziggy a very wide berth that first Summer. Wouldn’t go near him. BUT when the Winter winds began to blow, one by one the cats started to crawl into Ziggy’s house and he welcomed them. So now, they all snuggle up and keep each other warm.

    So, I guess I do speak from experience. Ziggy is my dog,too.

Comments are closed.