Do you have a Story to Tell

*We must tell our own stories, and we must tell the stories of others. If you don’t tell your own story, who will? Of course you know I advocate writing your story, but if you can’t write it, or won’t, then for sure tell it. Tell it often, so people don’t forget. It could matter.* this is the final line of a blog post by Sharon Lippincott, aka Ritergal.

The time to start telling the story is NOW! By the time most of us think of looking back to discover our history, it is too late. The people who have the information are gone. Gravestones and Registers only give dry facts. People bring those facts to life

My oldest brother was at the graveside of a beloved paternal uncle, when he suddenly realised it was too late to ask questions, and he had not paid enough attention to all the stories my uncle had told over the years. All those stories and facts were gone never to be retold. My brother then set himself a task of tracing and noting his family history and by passing on this information to me it opened a whole new outlet and hobby.

Gingerpixel used a wonderful photograph of work worn hands to tell the story of her Grandfather, when she was Guest Phototrapher/Blogger for Mr Irish Blogosphere himself Damien Mulley.

If you are fortunate enough to have parents and grandparents alive, spend some time with them and ask them to write down their memories. If they are not keen you interview them and write it or make a Podcast of them telling the story. The first stage is the most difficult, but once they make a start the memories come back and the stories start to flow.

Your children and Grandchildren will be pleased. Remember their lives will be as different to yours as mine is in relation to my grandparents.

14 thoughts on “Do you have a Story to Tell

  1. How right you are, Grannymar. The first time you think to yourself :”I’ll ask Mom what Auntie Peggy’s maiden name was” and you realize that Mom isn’t there anymore; that’s the moment you realize how important it is to leave a “Storybook” for your family.

    It’s pretty simple actually. I use a 3 ring binder and plastic sleeves. After I type up a story I insert it in a sleeve.Easy! Of course, you should also store your stories on your computer.

    I enjoy reading the stories over and over myself……..

  2. Nancy I wish, I wish……

    You have such wonderful stories… You know whats coming, yes think seriously about starting a Blog

  3. How nice to meet you via Ronnie’s page today.

    Yes, I didn’t remember many of the stories my one living grandmother told, and because of this, all her history is lost to her great great grandkids. What a wonderful woman she was too.

    My kids don’t ask me either, but then again, everything in the last 40 years has been journaled and now blogged.

  4. Welcome Madge,

    Events may be journaled and now blogged nowadays, but we each have our own journey through them.

    Write what you know and pass it on.

  5. Very good topic, GM and co-incidentally this came up tonight over din with friends (all grandmothers). Our stories are so important. I am lucky in that many of my family’s history has been serialized (by me) in magazine for my family to read but others need to put pen to paper or voice to tape or even find one of those help books to clarify what needs to be put down.

  6. Evening folks you are in deed right I used to do a bit of voluntary work and I still visit one lady in particular, we are very good friends, even in my travelling days I would write to her from time to time when I wasn’t pissed and could remember her name that is. Anyway, I still visit her now which was initially for company but now she bullies me and makes me do shitty jobs, I am 25 and a quarter I think she thinks I’m about 12ish but she has had the most amazing life, she has two sons who live abroad and whilst she adores them I never here of them contacting her. I can and sometimes do listen to her for hours, I can never understand how people don’t take time to do the same.

  7. Too true there’s much to be said for sitting at the dinner table and turning off the TV. Sadly, many of our storytellers are long gone by the time we’re old enough to take interest. Therefore, I bore my children with tales of past and family, whether they ask or not. I think they process the information . . .then again maybe all they hear is ‘bla bla bla’

  8. Baino if you tell it like you blog then they are sure to remember.

    You have a wonderful way with words.

  9. “Baino – you have a wonderful way with words”. Look who’s talking! GM – you are the bee’s knees when it comes to having a way with words!

  10. You are absolutely correct, everyone should write something of their life even if its just to answer the questions that their own children will have of them when they are long gone.

    I started after I heard a local historian on the radio once tell of how the greatest frustration of his hobby, and also the greatest find that he could make, was that people in the past had not kept personal diaries – as he explained we all know everything there is to know about Queen Victoria, but yet how much more interesting would the diary of her cook or housemaid be ?

    Its why I blog and its why I’ve started writing biographical stories on another web site.

  11. Welcome Gary, keep writing.

    Now I am off to find a cure for a welled head…

    Thank you kind people.

Comments are closed.